Free pattern: Toe Cap

toecap1

Ideal for diabetics, people with Raynaud’s Disease or simply if you have cold toes, this little cap knits up very quickly and uses very little yarn.  Perfect for those last few yards of left-over sock yarn.

Yarn: Sock/fingering weight yarn, approx. 30 m/6 g made one toe cap of size given.

toecap2

Needles: Five double pointed needles (or preferred style for working in the round) in size to obtain tension

Tension: 28 sts and 36 rounds per 10 cm over stocking stitch in the round

Materials/notions: set of 5 double pointed needles or type of needles you prefer, in size to obtain tension listed above

A blunt sewing needle.

Abbreviations:

  • K = knit
  • P = purl
  • Kf/b = knit into front and back of stitch (1 st. increased)
  • rnd = round

Pattern:

Using Judy’s Magic Cast On method (or preferred method) cast on 12 sts (6 per needle).

K 1 round, distributing sts even over needles

Inc. rnd: (K1, Kf/b, K2, Kf/b, K1) twice

Rep. this rnd 8 times [44 sts], then every alternate rnd until 64 sts are on the needles.

Instep stitches: (K1, P1) across half sts.
Sole sts: K.

Work in this manner for approx. 2 cm.

Work K1, P1 rib over all sts for another 3 cm or until reached desired length.

Cut length of yarn approx. 30 cm long.

Using the sewn method, cast off all sts.

Weave in ends.

toecap3

Legal note: I am offering this pattern for free. Do not sell this pattern. I encourage you to make some for charity or for someone you know who needs their toes kept warm. Donations to charity or for raffles and the like is OK.  If you use this pattern, please consider making a donation to a health or age-related charity.

(C) Amy Pickard 2008.

6 thoughts on “Free pattern: Toe Cap

  1. What a very thoughtful (in more ways than one) project. I suffer from the cold in my fingers and toes and this is such a brilliant idea for left over yarn,also. In these days of credit crunch a spiffing yarn, lol.. perhaps you can start a new style crase* Isawa pattern for spats the other day (think 1920s American Mobster shoe protectors) knitted in colourful yarn:they looked good – matching spats and toe caps – a new fashion trend, perhaps, and absolutely wonderful for those who suffer hellish discomfort during cold weather! You Go Girl!
    (* I can spell ‘CRASE’ properly….
    but the last letter of the alphabet on my laptop isnt working after coming into contact with some tea, Oops! I am so glad it wasnt a vowel, lol.

    Like

    • Ha–in days of yore, my old finger-powered typewriter blew out the “e” and my editor made me buy a new typewriter! He wouldn’t accept a capital E as perfectly reasonable.

      Like

  2. Oh wow can’t believe there was already a pattern out for this. I made my own up over a year ago for the first winter that I was in a leg wrap for a wound on my leg. Sorry never even entered my mind to check and see if there was already a pattern out. Good Job. My Wound Clinic gets any extras I make. My wound is taking a longgggg time to heel. Dropped my mobility scooter on it in Mid July 2021 so it is going on 2 YEARS now for having weekly leg wraps. It is almost there so I am being xtra careful.

    Like

Comments?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.