FO: Aestlight Shawl

aestlight fo3 (by dyedinthewool)

[Ravelry Project Page]

Pattern: (name, author, source) Aestlight Shawl by Gudrun Johnston from The Shetland Trader (available via Ravelry, but I’ve provided a link to the author’s blog for non-Rav folks)

Size(s): (to fit, finished size) Small, one-skein, version; 140 cm/55 inches along edge and 40 cm/15.75 inches from top to point

Yarn: (name, fibre, weight, colour) House of Awesome Mean Girl’s Yarn Club June Shipment (Aunt Sarah’s Pussies), 100% superwash wool, sock/fingering weight, chocolate, toffee and peppermint colours, approx. 310 yds

Needles: (size, material, style) US 5 Denise interchangeable plus 5 mm crochet hook to cast off.

Knitting style: (for stitch patterns) Combination/Eastern Uncrossed

Modifications: None. Nada. Not a one.  I know.

Notes: Love the yarn, love the pattern.

The yarn is soft and really suits this pattern.  I’ll admit that what the colour does may not be to everyone’s taste, but I love it!

The pattern is very well written and suitable for adventurous lace-knitting-beginners.  This particular slow-coach managed to knit the whole thing in 2 weeks and one day.

Seriously, that’s all I have to say so I’ll leave you with more photos, okay?

aestlight detail2 (by dyedinthewool)

aestlight fo4 (by dyedinthewool)

aestlight fo1 (by dyedinthewool)

More photos here on Flickr

About Amy P

I'm a knitting, sewing, crafting scientist with a list of chronic illnesses longer than my inflamed sciatic nerve!
This entry was posted in finished object, Knitting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to FO: Aestlight Shawl

  1. Anne says:

    I actually like the colorway a lot too! I love how it makes the stripey bits at the lace points on the edging. Nice job!

  2. Kate says:

    I like that a lot. :-) The colours are lovely and it doesn’t look like it would make you tear your hair out due to the complexity, either, which I need at the moment. *bookmarks for future reference*

  3. Vicki says:

    I love the colors, those are my living room colors, and the scarf pattern looks like I could attempt it, maybe.
    Very pretty.
    Vicki

  4. Carrie K says:

    You just knit from the skein and the colors fell like that? Wowza.

  5. Emma says:

    Very nice. May have to knit that !

    I have to go to Flickr to see your photos. On the blog they’re cropped by the wide ‘gutters’ – what do you call the side bits ? !
    I’m viewing on a mac with Firefox as the browser.

    • Amy P says:

      Oh, that’s odd. I’ve got the same set-up (FF on Mac) and it works for me… The sidebars and centre panel are designed to be dynamic (i.e. if you have a smaller browser window they change size so you don’t loose content). What browser version are you on and what screen resolution?

  6. jenifleur says:

    Oh I love this. I think it might be the answer to a few stash questions.

  7. 2paw says:

    Oh Amy, I love the colours and the pattern is perfect. It is wonderful!!!!

  8. You did a beautiful job! It looks like the pattern was made for the yarn. I’m going to do the same thing.

    By the way, I use FF and have no trouble with the pictures.

  9. April says:

    GORGEOUS! Isn’t it nice when the colors do nice things instead of pooling weirdly? It’s AB FAB =)

  10. mrsdrwho says:

    hey…really nice! Kind of medieval looking ( not medi-evil). Nice to see a variety of illness related horribles haven’t totally prevented you from being knitterly.

  11. turtlegirl76 says:

    Oooooh that’s so pretty!

  12. What a great size! I love how the colors worked out in it too!

  13. Laurel says:

    You pusher, you. Did I need a new shawl/scarf pattern? No. Did I buy it? Yes.

Because it's just me talking if you don't comment!

