The more I practice, the luckier I get

The more I practice, the luckier I get

Thanks Arnold Palmer, for the quote!

First of all, thank you for the lovely compliments I’ve received here, on Ravelry, Facebook and Plurk about the Aestlight shawl. It was a true pleasure to work on and I can see myself get a heck of a lot of wear out of it.

I had a few “how did you do that?”-type comments and it really is like Mr. Palmer says!

I haven’t shown anyone my early acrylic garter stitch scarf that I gave up on and so is too short to wear.  Or the matching hat that has huge ladders down it where the double pointed needle joins were.  Or the accompanying mittens that have huge internal seams and actually make my hands colder when I wear them.

I’m reliving all of these early knitting horrors because I’ve started doing this

river road1 (by dyedinthewool)

River Road cardigan yoke (from issue 1 of Inside Crochet magazine) by Robyn Chachula.

Looks nice, doesn’t it?  What that photo doesn’t show you are the false starts on the first motif, the misunderstanding about how to join the first to the second, or joining all 7 of them in a straight line instead of a curve and having to rip out the last round of all the motifs (including 7 half- and 2 quarter-motifs)  and re-joining them.

So, for comfort, I turn to a nice, simple knitted garment instead

modular tank top 22-07-09 (by dyedinthewool)

Modular Lace-up Tank from elann, knit in 100% Pure Wool 1 ply worsted

Except it’s biasing horribly and I don’t know why.  Can this be rectified with blocking?  Only time will tell.

Luckily, my mum’s gansey socks are not causing me any such headaches (thank you Wendy!)

tradgansocks3 (by dyedinthewool)

Traditional Gansey Socks from Socks from the Toe Up

And I had my hair dyed pink!

365:218 (by dyedinthewool)

So, how’ve you been?

8 thoughts on “The more I practice, the luckier I get

  1. Pink hair! It looks lovely. 😀

    Sometimes it does feel like luck when something turns out just how you want it to. But I think it’s also down to just a bit of being really rather clever. 😉

    Like

  2. Nice hair, very nice modelling too. I am always surprised when something I knit goes well. I expect the unexpected!! Glad you have some socks to sooth your savage breast. (So to speak!!)

    Like

  3. Well, for all your crochet trauma it looks wonderful. =) I’m impressed, my crochet skills are still remedial, like chain SC DC – only the easy stuff.

    The gansey socks are really really great, though. (confidentially, I think your pics are better than the ones in the book)

    Like

  4. In order of your post…
    purdy… crochet flowery bits
    biased tank top…..try explaining other points of view to it …but it is difficult to change a biased mind
    hair….Fhabulous Darlink!

    Like

Because it's just me talking if you don't comment!

