The Madness: day 9

Progress on the sock is slow but steady.

elodea progress 08-03-07

I’m now at the point of the heel. It will be a garter stitch, short row job, over two thirds of the foot stitches (a la Lucy Neatby).

Because that’s an incredibly boring photo and story here are some books I’ve bought recently:

books

They are:

  1. The Sweater Book by Sasha Kagan (from the Knitting and Crochet Guild)
  2. Volume 3 of the Harmony Stitch Guides (from Amazon)
  3. Volume 4 of the Harmony Stitch Guides (from Amazon)
  4. Stitch ‘n’ Bitch Nation by Debbie Stoller (from WH Smiths)
  5. book of stencils to make up the free postage at amazon.co.uk!

This just wouldn’t wait until the appropriate time in Project Spectrum, so I’ll show it now:

Amaryllis/Hippeastrum mosaic
1. Hippeastrum 7, 2. Hippeastrum 5, 3. Hippeastrum 6, 4. Hippeastrum 4

This is a hippeastrum (also known as an amaryllis). It really benefits from viewing the larger pictures if you have the time. I took them at about midday with the sun streaming through the petals. I mean to take a photo every year, but never seem to get around to it before they go over.

3 thoughts on “The Madness: day 9

  1. ***sigh*** Hippeastrum! Amaryllis! Orangish beauuutiful FLEUR

    I am going to have to save my cable combo for another project, I fear, it’s TOO much of a challenge for my photo-singer brain at the moment. I think I’ll do some sort of texture stitch instead.

    Your sock is coming along very nicely. I really like the play of the colors, dancing blues and greens.

    Like

Comments?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.