FO Friday: Exploration Station Shawl

FO Friday: Exploration Station Shawl

I can fly!
I can fly!

Pattern: Exploration Station aka Mystery Shawl 4 by Stephen West

It made a pretty decent-sized shawl!
It made a pretty decent-sized shawl!

Yarns and needles:

Four sock weight yarns (all from stash).

4.5 mm long interchangeable Knit Pro

I love the swooping of those short rows at the top.
I love the swooping of those short rows at the top.

Dates: 6th November 2014 – 17th February 2015

Size: 155 cm wingspan by 62 cm at deepest point.

Techniques:

  • I-cord (starting tab, edging, cast off)
  • Short rows
  • Double yarn overs
  • Slipped stitches
  • Simple lace
  • 2 colour brioche

Notes/mods:

  • Disappointingly the Mystery Shawl did not resemble any kind of body part this year. I was rather looking forward to that!
  • I learnt a couple of new techniques, most significant being brioche. I loved it!
  • I’m really pleased with my colour choices, especially the balance between the 3 tonal colours and the one contrast. I’m glad I waited until lots of other people had knit their first clues so I had a good idea of what would and wouldn’t work.
Because it's just me talking if you don't comment!

