FOs: Cobblestone Pullover and Barley Hat

FOs: Cobblestone Pullover and Barley Hat

Shhh…. don’t tell anyone I’m breaking my self-imposed blog break!

This post contains the entirety of my Christmas 2014 knitting. All of it.

cobblestone fo1
Cobblestone Pullover in Hayfield Bonus Aran Tweed

 

First up is the Cobblestone Pullover (pattern by Jared Flood/brooklyn tweed) originally published in the Fall 2007 issue of Interweave Knits.

My original plan was to do the whole thing in 4 tonal colours but I realised that with the short rows in the yoke this wouldn’t work. I switched to make the whole thing in Hayfield Bonus Aran Tweed. I only had one 400g ball so I purchased a second, with a completely different dye lot.

cobblestone fo2
The “double teapot” or “sugar bowl” pose!

 

Luckily, I’d already done a temporary cast on for the yoke and knit UP. So I made the sleeves (minus the cuffs) in the same dyelot as the yoke and used the second ball to knit the body and the cuffs.

My dad requested ribbed welts, for functionality, but I carried the garter stitch panels on the body down to the cast off.

cobblestone fo3
Note the garter panel at the side. The slight pull actual works well and means he can get into his trouser pockets a bit easier!

 

I did some short rows at the back hem to compensate for my dad’s slight stoop.

When I’d finished the jumper I had 80 g of yarn left over so on Christmas day I made a “matching” hat.

barley hat fo3
Barley hat to “match” the Cobblestone Pullover. I chose this because of the garter stitch panel.

 

Pattern: Barley by tincanknits.

I was slightly concerned that the slouchy style wouldn’t look great, but I think it really suits him!

Because it's just me talking if you don't comment!

