FO: Quintessence 2 Socks

FO: Quintessence 2 Socks

Quintessence II socks in Adriafil Globe Uni
Quintessence II socks in Adriafil Globe Uni

Pattern: Quintessence II by Tiina Kuu

Yarn and needles: Adriafil Globe Uni (Aran-weight wool/nylon multi-plied yarn) in colour 24. Three 50 g balls used (approx 260 m total). Plus, some grey Aran-weight yarn for the toes. Five 3 mm square metal dpns.

Notes/modifications:

  • No modifications other than for fit.
  • I quite liked working with this yarn. It’s made a pretty bullet-proof fabric, which is idea for their intended purpose; boot socks for my dad. It was pretty cheap, too at £2.99 per ball (purchased in the summer of 2013 from Purl City Yarns in Manchester)
  • Ran out of the Adriafil before I got to the toes so grabbed some Aran-weight stuff I had waiting around to be made into a Norwegian-style jumper for my dad.
  • Cast on using the Alternate Cable Cast On so it would flow straight into the twisted rib of the cuff.
  • I used some square needles for the first time making these. I’m not sure if they were easier on the hands as they are purported to be (I was knitting Aran-weight on 3 mm, it was never going to be a cake walk!) but it wasn’t an unpleasant experience.
  • THE MOST IMPORTANT POINT!!!! My dad likes them, they fit and he said they were very comfortable, kept his feet warm AND he forgot he was wearing them. I calling this one a BIG WIN!!!
3 thoughts on “FO: Quintessence 2 Socks

  1. I love these! Mostly for the colour, I have a number of socks in the same colour 🙂 I like the alternate cable cast-on for ribbing, I think it gets forgotten about perhaps because of the popularity of the long-tail cast-on amongst North American knitters. I think the cable cast-on is more common in the UK.

    Like

Because it's just me talking if you don't comment!

