Pattern: Strawberries & Cream socks

Pattern: Strawberries & Cream socks

Well, I hope this explains why I’ve been quiet recently! This is my third pattern for Knit Now and, if it’s not too boastful, one I’m very pleased with.

May I introduce, Strawberries & Cream Socks. [Rav link]

strawberriesandcream1_medium2
Photograph from Knit Now issue 23 © Dan Walmsley 2013

This is a “sampler” sock, with lots of different techniques in one piece, inspired by a traditional British picnic; gingham rug, picnic basket and parasol (or, more likely, an umbrella).

Details of (from top to bottom) ribbing, parasol handle and basketweave pattern, basketweave and gingham pattern.
Details of (from top to bottom) ribbing, parasol handle and basketweave pattern, basketweave and gingham pattern.

Yarn: The Yarn Yard BBFL in Natural and Red

Strawberries & Cream in repose!
Strawberries & Cream in repose! Made in size M with no modifications.

I liked the pattern so much that I have made a pair for me (well, only 1 sock so far but the second is on the needles)!
I picked a dark colour for the main yarn and a light for the contrast, so I called them “Liquorice & Nougat”! [Rav link]

Regia Silk and House of Xen version of pattern. Heel done with decreases every 3rd round.
Regia Silk and House of Xen version of pattern. Made in size L with heel modification.

I wanted to show one of the heel modifications detailed in the pattern; the decreases are worked every 3rd round to increase the heel depth. This fits my foot/ankle very well.

MC: Regia Silk, CC: House of Xen

Techniques used:

  • figure of 8 cast on
  • knitting a sock from the toe up
  • afterthought heel
  • jogless stripes in the round
  • stranded knitting
  • textured (knit/purl) knitting
  • simple intarsia in the round (optional; duplicate stitch can be used instead)
  • lace knitting
  • ribbing
  • stretchy cast off

Knit Now Issue 23 is available via More Mags, some UK supermarkets and also available via the Apple App store for compatible devices.

dyedinthewool
© 2013

7 thoughts on “Pattern: Strawberries & Cream socks

  1. Oh how fabulous!! I love the little picnic details of the Strawberries and Cream. And the modelling is excellent too. However, I imagine a UK Summer as being more Liquorice & Nougat!!

    Like

Because it's just me talking if you don't comment!

