The long road to recovery

The long road to recovery

Yesterday’s post was a very difficult one for me. I almost didn’t click “publish”. I almost uploaded a picture of the pens and pencils I was sorting out. But I didn’t, because I think I need to be honest not only with you, the readers of this blog, but also with myself.

What I went through over the summer was horrific. I have been through a very traumatic event and, somehow, come out of the other side. I eventually asked for help and I am now starting to receive it.

For me, that means a volunteer who will help me get out and about (I’ve not been out on my own since the beginning of June) and do some fun things again. Hopefully, this will mean I will be able to go into Manchester soon, possibly before the new year. I’m also waiting for CBT (Cognitive Behavioural Therapy) and to be seen by psychiatry. I had worked so hard on building up my confidence over the past few years and I just feel it’s all gone overnight.

Anyway, here’s a picture of progress on the Cria cardigan

Sleeves and body now divided.

and a story about a man in a giraffe costume who helps people in Scotland.

9 thoughts on “The long road to recovery

  1. CBT does help, and you’re on the right path. Set-backs are so painful, but your skills will reassert themselves. Hang on in there, sometimes just forming one stitch, then another, helps.

    Like

  2. I really do understand, it’s from a little different angle, but still a brain thing and the road to recovery is long and seems endless, it is possible to get there. Those low points are excruciating and humbling, but from one who has gone from personality shattering situations to getting back to me, it builds you back in a way that you can hardly be shaken off your foundations again. My therapist was/is amazing and a huge help to sorting through the chatter going on in my head.

    You can do this, because if we have anything in common (as you know we do) you have determination and a little bit of the bulldog in you, clamp on and don’t let up.

    Like

  3. a belated hug and cannot wait to see you in Manchester soon. you’re doing all the right things, and it’s amazing how strong you are to get the help you need to get stronger.

    Like

  4. I know that when I was all depressed and anxious last year it was a horrid time and my lovely psychologist helped me so much. I am glad that you are finding some people to help you. Take care, enjoy your knitting and your outings!!!

    Like

Because it's just me talking if you don't comment!

