FO: Chickadee Cardigan

FO: Chickadee Cardigan

Pattern: Chickadee Cardigan from Little Red in the City by Ysolda

Yarn: MC: Sirdar Click DK CCs: Sirdar Click DK, Rowan Cashsoft DK

Finished Measurements: underarm to hem: 44cm/17 in. Width: 1123cm/44 in

Yoke floats!

Notes/Modifications:

  • I swatched and found I liked the fabric knit at a tighter gauge than that given in the pattern so I knit from the instructions for a larger size to achieve the desired finished measurements.
  • I added pockets as directed in the Cria cardigan instructions from the same book.
  • I did an intarsia motif on the pockets to mirror the yoke patterning, but in different yarn.
Pocket
  • The lining for the pockets is a “floating” lining to protect the stranding on the pocket fronts.
Pocket lining

  • I worked a 1/1 rib for the sleeve cuffs as per my mum’s requirements and I reflected this in the pocket welts.
  • Omitted top button hole as it would be surplus to requirements.
  • Worked simple yarn over buttonholes.
Mmmm....mitred corners....
  • No waist shaping.
  • Used a slip-stitch mock seam for structural reasons.
Slip-stich seam. Note the pilling on the front.
  • Very unhappy with how the Sirdar Click has pilled on the fronts and sleeves. Not please with this at all. But…
  • My mum loves the cardigan and it fits her. What more could a girl want?
Back yoke - raglan sleeve increases to either side and puckering caused by the rapid yoke increases at the back.
8 thoughts on “FO: Chickadee Cardigan

    1. Thanks Emma! I made it to replace the Arien cardigan I made her oh-so-many years ago which is starting to thin at the elbows. I didn’t want her to be bereft!

      Like

Because it's just me talking if you don't comment!

