Know when to fold ’em

Know when to fold ’em

Nb: This post has been ready to go since last Monday but between a birthday to celebrate, a rather unexpected consequence of my antibiotics and obtaining a new washing machine I just haven’t had the motivation to upload and edit some photos!  I’m also scrabbling to catch up on other people’s blogs. Everyone on stand-by!

I think one of the most important abilities as a crafter is knowing when to give something up as a bad job.

I decided that I would never wear a chunky-weight, black raglan jumper with a boat-neck which rolled.  I would, however, wear a long-line chunky-weight waistcoat with pockets!

Exit: Weekend Pullover.

Wave bye-bye!

Enter: Rooibos! (roy-boss)

Left front and start of back

Well, since it’s black and not red let us call it Swartbos (black bush, svart-boss).

I’ve retained the hood of the sweater intact because I may add it to the waistcoat once it’s finished (keeping it detachable as it was in the Weekend Sweater).

At 12 sts to 10 cm, this is not a slow knit! I finished the left front in 3 days while working on other craft projects.

The spinning is progressing (nothing worth showing) as are my three shawls. No, that’s not a mistake! Alongside Taygete and Sakaki, I’ve cast on for the 2011 Anniversary Mystery Shawl from Goddessknits (Yahoo Group now closed so the link is to Ravelry).

Not a great shot! Halfway through clue 1

The yarn I’m using is from ilLOOMinated Yarns and is dyed using walnuts! As evidenced by this photo, I can confirm that this is a truly natural product!  This is what sloughed off when I was winding the yarn.

Nuts!!!

The yarn is more of a cobweb than a true lace weight so when blocked this shawl will be very delicate and feather-light. Can’t wait!

And of course Wendy has started a mystery KAL for sock-weight small shawl and …. well, let’s just say I like scarves and I have a lot of sock yarn!

How I keep track of the various decreases

Orange = SSK, Green = K2tog, Pink = double decrease

and where I was as of yesterday evening:

SPOILERS! 🙂

In case you know know from whence the title comes, I give you a Chinese-looking Kenny Rogers (seriously man, you didn’t need to mess with your face like that!) with The Gambler:

11 thoughts on “Know when to fold ’em

    1. Well spotted, yes it is your yarn! I’ve been holding off on making something with it because I wanted it to be “right”, and I think the colour just screams Summer so it fit perfectly with the mystery shawl.

      Like

  1. And I was going to say Hello from Dolly too!! I like Rooibos much better than the jumper. It looks far more wearable!! Nice shawls and I am not surprised, I liked knitting my shawl/scarf. They are fun!! Lots of nice wool, even if it is nutty!!
    I do that exact same thing : colour code my pattern symbols, then I don’t actually have to read them.

    Like

  2. Know when to hold them….

    oh

    So… good call on the switching patterns, the waistcoast is much better. Is the other yarn dyed with black walnuts or the regular kind? I’ve been looking for a smallish shawl project for sock yarn, but the yarn I want to use may be a little too variegated for the pattern. I may try it anyway, just to get the knitting mojo going again.

    Like

Because it's just me talking if you don't comment!

