FO: Watershed

FO: Watershed

Ripply collar be gone! Slightly later than I’d anticipated due to illness, present-knitting, the Advent scarf, more illness and my inability to follow a pattern correctly I present:

I accidentally knit the bottom edging in stocking stitch instead of garter but I liked it enough to keep it!

I worked the side edging in garter as per the pattern but altered the back lace to be in stocking stitch with garter edging to match my “design element”!

I can see this being a good seasonal-transition piece as well as excellent for layering (I’m all about the layering!).

The yarn is from an independent dyer I found on Folksy and although it’s not in my normal colour range (yellow and bluey-green!) I really like it.

I’d previously blogged about the problems I had with the back-neck having too much fabric in it but this was very easily fixed and I think you’ll agree, it’s improved the fit.

There were lots of ends to weave in and I felt some of this could have been eliminated.  For example, the underarm stitches are left “live” and you are then instructed to pick up stitches around the armhole and immediately cast them off.  If I’d had more confidence I would have cast off the underarm stitches at the point where you divide for the front and back, which would have eliminated two ends to weave.

I didn’t follow the instructions for the armhole but instead found a crochet edging which mirrored the “spiky” nature of the lace pattern and used that instead.

Pattern: Watershed by Amy Swenson [My Ravelry Project Page – no membership required to view]

Yarn: Wharfedale Woolworks BFL Aran in “September Song”. Approx. 450 yds used.

Size: on the advice of the designer I made the 38″ size so it would fit my back and not be too loose.

Modifications:

  • Knit bottom lace in stocking stitch instead of garter (accidental mod)
  • Worked back lace pattern in st. st. to mirror bottom lace
  • Crochet edging around armholes
7 thoughts on “FO: Watershed

  1. It’s magnificent! I like the mix of garter and stockinette stitch, it gives a little extra texture and interest. If you make it again, it would be interesting to see the difference in leaving the stitches live instead of picking them up.

    Like

    1. Thanks! I would have modelled it but between being exhausted and the terrible light at the moment, I couldn’t get around to it. May be it will pop up when you least expect it! 😀

      Like

  2. Very pretty! I love those colors and I’m sure they’ll look nice on you. I’m glad you got that fix worked out on the collar, it was getting kind of Elizabeth I looking there. Now it’s perfect!

    Like

Because it's just me talking if you don't comment!

