Red Queen

Red Queen

“It takes all the running you can do, to keep in the same place”. So says the Red Queen in Through the Looking Glass.

I keep knitting and knitting and I never seem to catch up. The Red Queen Hypothesis is also one of my favourite evolutionary biological hypotheses (what? Everyone has a favourite evolutionary biology hypothesis).

I CAN MAKE IT!!!!

I’m now 3 days behind on my Advent scarf/shawl/stole/thingy, partly because I’ve no thrilling last-day Test Match victories to keep me going (magnanimous in victory and defeat but BOO-YA!!!) but also because I had a moment of mild panic, realised what date it was and starting working frantically on semi-secret knitting.

That, and the small issue of little-finger-versus-bread-knife.

The Bread Knife Won.

Anyway, my initial plan was to finish this on-or-around Christmas Day itself so I could start washing the machine oil out of the scarf a.s.a.p. and then block it on Boxing Day.  Looks like that plan’s out of the window now, but as long as I can finish it before New Year’s Eve I think I’ll be happy.

The reason I want to be done with this project before the end of the month is because I’m partaking in “12 in 2011”; 12 projects to be started and finished within the year.  The additional challenge for the group I’ve joined up with is to only use yarn from your stash.  I’ve got my main projects sorted and I’ll do a proper post just before the new year as a name-and-shame record!

Hmm…. spreadsheets ….

6 thoughts on “Red Queen

    1. Hi Denise,

      I’m doing a bit of Elizabeth Zimmerman-like thinking and knitting on through all things. The yarn may be getting caught on my bandage every now and then, but it’s only slowing my down and not stopping me!

      Like

  1. I love that book! I’ve always been scared to start a day by day knit along. It’s the commitment, I can’t take it! haha

    Sorry about the pink finger, I just bought new knives (really good ones) and I’ve been cut so many times since.

    Like

Because it's just me talking if you don't comment!

