Swings and roundabouts

Swings and roundabouts

Such is the life of a chronic!

I’ve been quietly knitting away on some things and attempting to sew some more things.  I’ve been hanging around online, and generally making a nuisance of myself. I’ve joined my first ever book group!

Right, photos or it didn’t happen!

Proposition entrelac armwarmers in Mean Girls Yarn Club September yarn (wool/bamboo/nylon mix)

No, it really is that colour!

 

I’ve been making slow progress on my mum’s top-down chunky cotton chenille cardigan

Hate the yarn, love the recipient.

 

Oh, how I hate this yarn …

So as an incentive I bought some lovely Aran-weight yarn from an independent dyer based just over the border from me in Yorkshire.

I was looking for some yarn for my Watershed cropped vest and found Wharfdale Woolworks on Folksy.

Aran-weight wool in September Song colourway

 

Rubbish photos, but I think you get the idea!

I’ve made an accidental modification to Watershed which I’ll talk about in the FO post but, as Tim Gunn would say, I’m making it work!

No promises as to next post schedule but let’s just say I hope it will be sooner rather than later?!

6 thoughts on “Swings and roundabouts

  1. Love the armwarmers. I haven’t attempted to do entralac yet, but I’m always fascinated by others photos.

    I hate knitting with chenille yarn too. I have a sweater I started for my daughter in the last century that I haven’t finished yet. It’s stored in a box back in NY so it will be quite awhile.

    Looks like you have been busy.

    Like

  2. Oh I love the colours in your sock, very bright and cheery!!
    Oh the endless ‘greater love hath no woman’ of the chenille knitting… at least it is green!!
    Nice incentivation wool, and I think an accidental modification is a design feature!!!
    What book are you reading at Book Group???

    Like

  3. Since chronic means pot here in California, I got an inadvertant giggle from your first sentence.

    I love all the colors you’re working with. They seem very bright and pretty, a wonderfu thing with the changing autumn sunlight.

    I must agree with you on chenille. I made one chenille sweater in my life, and that was definitely the last!

    Like

  4. chenille is weird, it’s like one of those things that seems like a good idea in theory, but in reality … not so much – at least it feels good once you have it on =)

    Entrelac has always fascinated me, while being the tiniest bit frightening lol – but it sure looks purty

    LOVE LOVE loooovvveee the aran stuff SO much

    Like

Because it's just me talking if you don't comment!

