FO: Annis mini-shawl

FO: Annis mini-shawl

or: I Am No Longer Afraid Of Nupps!


It took me exactly a month to make Annis. Most of that time was the nupps!
It’s really wide, as you can see, but it used a lot less yarn that I thought it would.

The short rows make a great shape for sitting on the shoulders.

The top, stocking stitch portion, curls like mad despite a good blocking.  I thought it might do that and was going to do a knit/purl textured stitch to help it lie flat and, in retrospect, I wish I had.

Is is too clown-barf-ish?  Is the contrast in colours too great to show off the lace and nupps?  It may be, I’m not sure.  But it’s lovely and soft and it turned out to be the perfect scarf size.

Having said all of that, overall I’m pleased with how this turned out.

Pattern: Annis by Susanna IC from knitty spring+summer 2010 [My Ravelry Project Page – no membership required to view this page]

Yarn: Dizzy Blonde Studio Mean Girls Yarn Club Aurora’s HOARealis (light fingering, 100% merino).  Approx. 280 yds (half a skien) used.

Finished size(s): difficult to measure because it’s very flexible but wingspan approx. 47″ and top neck to point of lace 14″.

Mods/notes: Made the nupps over one row with the help of a crochet hook!

8 thoughts on “FO: Annis mini-shawl

  1. So you’re afraid of nuppthing now??
    I think the variegation looks fine with the pattern, it’s a nice combination and I can see the pattern on your skin!!

    Like

  2. Rosemary Hill posted sometime last week on her blog about “killing” yarn. I wonder if that wouldn’t fix the stockinette curl? She was recommending the process for shawls knit from “sock yarns” since they tend to have so much bounce to them they don’t hold a block terribly well. I have a project I think I’m going to give it a try on here soon.

    Like

Because it's just me talking if you don't comment!

