ToT: 10 Things You Like About Where You Live

ToT: 10 Things You Like About Where You Live

Although I moan a lot about where I live, I like this positive spin on it! I’m taking “where I live” not only to mean my immediate location, but the UK at large.

  1. The landscape.  I love living where, if I stand on tip toes and lean in the right direction, I can see craggy hills and moorland from my window.
  2. The climate and the weather.  There’s a reason British people are obsessed with the weather and that’s because there’s so much of it!
  3. Accessibility.  I can be in Manchester city centre in 20 minutes, Leeds in not much longer than that, London in 4 hours (hahahahahaha – sorry, joke.  You’re lucky if you can catch a train that isn’t delayed)  but I can also be in the Lake District in less than 2 hours and in the Pennine hills in fewer than 30 minutes.
  4. Greenery.  At this time of year, in the middle of the town centre, you can see trees and flowers.  In the winter there are the ever-changing moors in which clouds skid over purple heather blackened in patches from the summer fires.
  5. I get horses clip-clopping past my front door on a fairly regular basis!  (It’s a semi-rural area, and they are mounted horses – not wild).
  6. The mobile library stops at the top of my street – gotta love free books that are delivered to your door!
  7. You can’t watch Emmerdale, Holyoaks or Coronation Street (three soaps) without saying “Oh, he lives one street away.” , “Hey, isn’t that my hairdresser’s cousin” or “I went to school with them!”
  8. Cricket.  I keep telling myself I’ll go to a local match but I can never find the fixtures list and it’s all the way over the other side of the village and ….
  9. Community – my hairdresser and I went to the same secondary school (actually, we only missed each other by one year!), you go to the local supermarket and you actually know who these people are and you occasionally find three neighbours who seem to care!
  10. History.  This place is jam-packed with history; ancient and modern, local and “foreign”.  There are Roman roads, stone circles, industrial revolution, political history and everything in between – and that’s just in my local town!

Huh. That was more difficult than I’d thought.  It’s always easy to see things to like about places you visit but more difficult to see the positive around you (plus we Britons have a tendency to moan!)

8 thoughts on “ToT: 10 Things You Like About Where You Live

  1. Hello,
    I used to live in Manchester, left 3 years ago and I still miss the place for many of the reasons cited here, notably the greenery. I now live in a city centre in Belgium and it is sooo grey. People here should take lessons from the UK about anything green…

    Like

  2. I love Manchester! It’s totally different from northern California where I live. I mean totally! But that’s why I like it. In fact I’ll be in Manchester at the weekend for a day. I can enjoy the buildings that weren’t all built in the 1950, bricks (no bricks in CA), the awesome northern accents ( I realize I have the accent – but you know what I mean)…plus I have an odd love of M&S. See, you left a few off your list 🙂

    Like

  3. AH the lake district and the moors. I need to get a passport.

    10 things I like about where I live?
    1) 1/4 of a mile from me I can see horses
    2) Hugs skies with beautiful sun sets
    3) Nice large backyard for kids, the dog and a garden
    4) Good public school with a Fine Arts Academy
    5) 2 very nice Museums within 6 – 8 miles
    6) A safe and artsy downtown within 11 miles
    7) Historic stock yards and annuals stock show and rodeo
    8) Lovely family oriented water parks within 30 minutes drive
    9) Texas wildflowers
    10) Main Street Arts Festival every May

    Like

      1. Maybe I will post that to my blog.

        I think it’s funny/ironic that in trying to make #8 with a parenthesis made a smiley face with sunglasses on my water park comment. Almost looks intentional.

        Like

Because it's just me talking if you don't comment!

