ToT: 10 Books on My Summer Reading List

ToT: 10 Books on My Summer Reading List

Photographs of what I was up to last week coming soon, but in the meantime here’s my second Ten on Tuesday list.

These days I favour audiobooks over physical books because they don’t put strain on my hands and arms and I can also knit while “reading” them.  I love Podiobooks.com and Librivox (both free at the point of use) and I’ve provided links where possible.

  1. Max Quick 2: The Two Travellers – I’m part way through this book now. It’s the sequel to The Pocket and The Pendant in which a mysterious young boy with seemingly no past discovers who he is. It’s a young adult novel with scifi, fantasy and history.
  2. Crescent – a contrast with the first book, this is very much grown-up scifi with sex, violence and swearing!  It’s a horror novel with a really creepy feeling (I’m part way through this one as well)
  3. Librivox Short Story collection vol 5 – a great collection of short stories by many different authors (Frank L Baum, James Joyce, Rudyard Kipling)
  4. Ancestor by Scott Sigler – another Podiobook novel. I’ve loved all of Sigler’s work (really not for the faint of heart) and have become immersed in the Siglerverse!
  5. Ophelia: The Rose of Elsinore by Mary Cowden Clarke. Another Librivox recording on my list, read by Elizabeth Klett. I love her voice and reading style and she has a real passion for the literature she chooses.
  6. Dead in the Family by Charlaine Harris. Yes, I know, but I’m kind of stuck with it now having powered through the rest of the series. It’s addictive.  I’m waiting to get this from the library.
  7. Kottō : being Japanese curios, with sundry cobwebs by Lafcadio Hearn – I’ve always been fascinated by Japanese culture and it’s parallels and contrasts with British culture (sea-faring, warring nations but one inward-looking and the other outward) so I’ve very much looking forward to this collection of stories and essays.
  8. The Voyage Out by Virginia Woolf – I’ve never read a Woolf novel and I feel that’s remiss of me, so I’ve chosen this Librivox recording to start with.
  9. Peace Lord of the Red Planet by Steven H. Wilson. This was flagged up on the Podiobooks facebook page and I liked the sound of it (not the title – it is a bit HG Wells!)
  10. The Case of the Missing Books by Ian Sansom. This was an impulse library grab – it’s set aboard a mobile library in rural Ireland and is the first in a series featuring the same protagonist.

So until next Tuesday, read well and read often!

5 thoughts on “ToT: 10 Books on My Summer Reading List

  1. I’m not as far in reading Charlaine Harris’ books as you, but in my longer list there are definitely a few more of those. I just read Real Murders via NetLibrary a couple weeks ago and want to read more in that particular series.

    The Case of the Missing Books seems like something I might also wish to add to the longer list…

    Like

  2. That’s a good idea. I’m currently re-reading some of my Austen stuff. Somehow, I speed through stories sometimes and miss things here and there. I still have a couple of Bronte novels I haven’t finished, mainly because of not knowing French well enough to know what is going on. Branching out seems like a good idea, though. =)

    Like

Because it's just me talking if you don't comment!

