Of shawls and socks

Of shawls and socks

Sidebar: hated “Of Mice and Men”. Hated it. Was assigned it (non-compulsory) for GCSE English. Hated it so much that on the eve of my exam I swapped it for a Red Dwarf novel. I got a B.

Shawls:

I got 150g of this bamboo yarn in a swap on Ravelry and knew if I didn’t use it now it would sit in my stash.  Deciding to keep it simple, I chose the Feather and Fan Comfort Shawl and I think I made the right decision:

I’ve now finished this, but I’ll give it it’s own post!

I’ve now cast on for another shawl/mini-shawl/shawlette/scarf and you may have seen one or two of these floating around the intertubes:

It’s Annis from knitty.com made in Aurora Hoarialis from the Mean Girl’s Yarn Club.  There is a lot of high varigation in this yarn so it could be beautiful, it could be clown barf.

Stay tuned to find out which!

Socks:

Well, it’s “sock” really, singularly.

It’s pathetic how long it’s taken to finish this and it was only because I was at the hairdresser that I managed it!  I’ve cast the second one on and started on the lace.

Up next: sewing and knitting finished objects!

9 thoughts on “Of shawls and socks

  1. Oh god, I hated Mice and Men, too. And Grapes of Wrath. HATED, almost as much as I hated Great Expectations (the only book assigned in high school that I didn’t actually read all of… and couldn’t even get through the Cliff Notes). Why do I want to depress myself on purpose? My brain chemistry does a fine job of it already, thank you very much. Can’t wait to see how the Annis turns out!

    Like

  2. I am currently working my way thru Anna Karenina. Not sure how that will turn out, but I have to think I have more hope finishing that than War and Peace!

    Like

  3. Ack! Of Mice and Men was a very typical GCSE text, we also had Kestrel for a Knave (that’s right, teach the kids that they can have their dreams of a brighter future, and they will be crushed and broken and they’ll STILL have to go down t’pit – way to be encouraging!)

    Ahem! sorry. anyway, love the feather and fan comfort shawl. my attempt at this was so much fail that I quietly frogged it and disposed of the yarn >.> Well done, you! 🙂

    Like

  4. Was Kestrel for a Knave made into a film called Kes?? I had to watch it, and it was awful.
    I quite liked all the books I read at high school, Matric and Uni!! I was not so happy about the poetry.
    Right, back to the sock: very nice, like the lace. Will there be a hair picture??
    I am off to visit Knitty and see what Annis looks like!!

    Like

  5. So many depressing books out there. I never read of Mice and Men, but Great Expectations was just awful. Anyway, your fiber arts are looking great, as always =)

    Like

Because it's just me talking if you don't comment!

