Is it a bird? Is it a plane? Well it ain’t a plane!*

Is it a bird? Is it a plane? Well it ain’t a plane!*

*I wrote this post on Tuesday and have been somewhat over taken by events (in other words this blissfully clear sky

No con trails (by dyedinthewool)

will soon be full of con-trails again!)

But air chaos and all that would have been a piece of cake in comparison to casting on for my new project, Cerisara.

It took me five (yes, that’s right, FIVE) attempts before I cast on correctly.  Well, even on the fifth attempt I was still a stitch short but I’d almost given up the will to fight so I increased one on the first row.

cerisara wip1 (by dyedinthewool)

Four repeats done on the back

The pattern is a top-down garment cast on at the shoulders with a temporary method, and I chose to use one of the cables from my KnitPro set in place of the waste yarn. It worked very well, as you can see:

cerisara wip2 (by dyedinthewool)

Temporary cast on

The yarn is a very inexpensive 70/30 acrylic/cotton blend from King Cole yarns.  I purchased it a good few years ago and 500g of it has been wallowing in my stash ever since.  Since I wanted a work-horse of a cardigan and I’m trying to knit from stash wherever possible, I think this is a good match!

Well, I’m off to think of more Italian-Chinese fusion dishes I can make (tonight’s black olive and courgette stir-fry with egg noodles was a success!)

4 thoughts on “Is it a bird? Is it a plane? Well it ain’t a plane!*

  1. Oh I like that cardigan except it has no buttons. It looks good and that’s a very clever idea!! Mind you I already ahve about a bazillion cardis I want to knit and one to fix. I ahve not been affected by the volcano, but friends have. I don’t think I would like to be on the first plane flying through the invisible dust……

    Like

  2. I really like that stitch pattern. Every time I try one of those cast ons I have to go back to the tutorial. Sure is cool, though, when you can just pick it up and start knitting in the other direction. Happy cardi-ing

    Like

  3. Cute sweater! I’ve got my eye on that pattern so I’ll be following your progress.

    Fusion ideas: braised bok choy with a balsamic reduction glaze…hmmm…shitake risotto…

    Like

Because it's just me talking if you don't comment!

