Dreaming of the sea

Dreaming of the sea

071:365 2 (by dyedinthewool)

seaglass and seabrick I found on various Welsh beaches

It’s at this time of year I get my travel-itch.  It’s something about having made it through February (the month that hates me) and seeing the signs of spring that really get me thinking about going somewhere.

I currently live inland (not that you are anywhere more than 70 miles away from the sea in Britain) but I really feel more at home on the coast than anywhere else.  It’s something primordial in me that needs that connection to the ocean.

055:365 2 (by dyedinthewool)

muscle shells also collected from Welsh beaches

Maybe that’s why I love flotsam, beach-combing and rock pooling?

My draw to the sea may stem from the fact I currently feel as if I’m on-board a ship again.  I’ve got another ear infection. Yay me! No antibiotics as an adult until New Year’s Eve and now two heavy-duty doses within 3 months!

If you remember from January, knitting and crochet are pretty much off the menu. Reading (hurrah), needlepoint and sewing are most emphatically ON!

072:365 2 (by dyedinthewool)

A sneak preview of something I’ve been working on since January

and

pjs 1 (by dyedinthewool)

A set of birthday pyjamas for my mum, finished with plenty of time to spare

pjs 2 (by dyedinthewool)

I even took the time to match the fabric of the pocket up with the pattern!

I used an out-of-print Simplicity pattern (4796) and the dragonfly fabric was from Abakhan in Manchester.  Oh, my mum doesn’t know about these so can we keep this between ourselves?  Thanks!

Here’s hoping I get back to blogging more frequently than this.  I may start to share more of my Project 365 photos here (especially those with a crafting bent) so I keep my hand in; as it were!  I hope to see you soon.

8 thoughts on “Dreaming of the sea

  1. You need some of The Labradors’ ear infection warder offerer ear wash!! You have done such an excellent job with those pyjamas the pocket is perfection itself. I did not like it when I lived down the West Coast away from the sea or a river. Even our muddy, choked river is better than nothing. Hope your ears are better soon and you enjoy your alternative crafts till then.

    Like

  2. LOVE the PJs. Bet your mum will too. (Today I have on my leaping bunnies and snowflake ones.)

    The beach treasures photos are stellar too. Hope you get a little trip somewhere with the ocean in view!

    Like

  3. I want John Masefield’s poem ‘Sea Fever’ read at my funeral :

    I must down to the seas again, to the lonely sea and the sky,
    And all I ask is a tall ship and a star to steer her by,
    And the wheel’s kick and the wind’s song and the white sail’s shaking,
    And a grey mist on the sea’s face, and a grey dawn breaking.

    I must down to the seas again, for the call of the running tide
    Is a wild call and a clear call that may not be denied;
    And all I ask is a windy day with the white clouds flying,
    And the flung spray and the blown spume, and the sea-gulls crying.

    I must down to the seas again, to the vagrant gypsy life,
    To the gull’s way and the whale’s way where the wind’s like a whetted knife;
    And all I ask is a merry yarn from a laughing fellow-rover
    And quiet sleep and a sweet dream when the long trick’s over.

    Anyway, come up and see me if you don’t mind sleeping on a very comfy sofa with a ginger kitten 😉

    Like

  4. Love your pics – as ALWAYS =) I need to put my feet in the Ocean, too. I am only an hour away where I am right now, and that’s so close I can feel it tugging at me. Usually I’m a good 6 or 7 hours away, so this is close. Maybe I should just move to England an get it over with. lol

    GREAT work on the PJ’s and matching fabrics. I’ve never really worried about doing that, but once I made a striped dress, it was really cute, and all the stripes lined themselves up perfectly. If I had been trying, I couldn’t have done better – yaay for serendipity, eh?

    Ears get better, ears get better, ears get better – my positive vibes =)

    Like

  5. It’s a long, long time since I stood on a Welsh beach. November 2005 was the last time I think. I always used to include a trip to the beach whenever I went back to South Wales to see family. Breton beaches are pretty good but they’re not the beaches I grew up with.

    Like

Because it's just me talking if you don't comment!

