FO: Cupcake top

FO: Cupcake top

cupcake fo5 (by dyedinthewool)

Pattern: Cupcake by Laura-Jean Bernhardson from Stitch ‘n’ Bitch Crochet (ed. Debbie Stoller) [My Ravelry Project Page]
Yarn: Mirasol Samp’a DK (organic cotton.  120 yds/110 m per 0g).  Approx. 350 g (840 yds/770 m) used
Hook(s): 6 mm

cupcake fo4 (by dyedinthewool)

Sizes (To fit/Actual): To fit 112 cm/44″ bust (ish), Finished bust 112 cm/44″ and Finished Length (hem to underarm) 39 cm/15.5 ”
Dates: Start: 12/02/2010 and Finish: 27/02/2010

cupcake fo1 (by dyedinthewool)

Modifications/notes:

  • Finished!  I slide over the finish line on my back with one ski on my foot and one pole in my hand.
  • This was my first ever crochet garment and I love it!  The fit is great and I managed to follow the instructions with no problems whatsoever.
  • My stitch gauge was tighter than the pattern so I made the largest size to get the fit I wanted.  Given the problems I have with row gauge in knitting, I was spot on with the crochet.  The irony – it burns!
9 thoughts on “FO: Cupcake top

  1. It’s lovely, The Cupcake, very nice indeed. Wouldn’t it rot your sock that your crochet tension is right and your knitting not???
    our is the second Gold for GB this Olympics then??!!

    Like

  2. Hi – great work! I’m having a go at this pattern myself and am having real problems with the gauge/pattern size. Did you find that too? When I get the gauge to be the 10 1/2 st x 10 rows = 4 inches the book says I’m getting the actual garment width coming out 2 1/2 inches bigger than the pattern measurements picture shows….Any help gratefully received!…Thank you!

    Like

Because it's just me talking if you don't comment!

