FO: Pixie slippers

FO: Pixie slippers

pixie slippers mosaic (by dyedinthewool)

Pattern: Peter Pan Slippers by Gabriela Ordenes [My Ravelry Project Page]
Yarn: Sirdar Cossack Chunky. Colour 086 – a black/midnight blue with rainbow flecks of colour.  Acrylic/wool/viscose mix. 130 m/147 yds per 100g.  115 g used (approx. 150 m/164 yds)
Hook(s): 6 mm plastic hook
Dates: 15th-18th of January 2010
Modifications/notes:

  • I think these are my first non-washcloth, non-granny square crocheted finished object.
  • I’m sure a more experience person could have knocked these out in less time, but a more experienced person would not have made the second slipper into a triangle instead of a square.  It’s OK, I’m laughing now.
  • The pattern, despite it’s brevity, is not easy.  The author is not a native English-speaker and I think some things have been lost in translation.  With pattern and diagram [DELETED LINK AT REQUEST OF DESIGNER] in hand, though, I made it through.
  • I wouldn’t recommend this to a complete beginner since you sort of have to know what you’re going to stick where and what it’s suppose to look like.
  • But look how freakin’ cute! 😀

pixie slippers fo (by dyedinthewool)

11 thoughts on “FO: Pixie slippers

  1. How very Enid Blyton of you!! They are so cute!! I am always wary of crochet patterns because we do UK terms but unless the pattern is clear, I am never sure if it is UK or USA!!

    Like

    1. I studied the pictures and the diagram was helpful because the symbols are the same in UK and US terms, but yes there could be some *interesting* items made if you weren’t sure which was which!

      Like

  2. Very fun and very cute! One thing my younger sis said when she tried to learn crochet is that the rules were very bendy and inspecific sometimes which frustrated her.

    Like

  3. I love those. I struggle with memorising the different stitches in crochet because I have patterns in UK, US and French terms. I have to keep a stitch guide with me for the appropriate country every time I tackle something. I have the back of a Phildar baby cardigan that I started for Rhianwen, picked up again for Eluned and now she’s too big for it.

    Like

  4. Hello,
    you managed it very very well, love your version !
    very sad you cannot show your own pattern and diagramm
    🙂
    have a nice day
    M

    Like

    1. Hello. I love the slippers and wear them a lot. The link to the diagram I removed was the designer’s, not mine. I did not design these slippers, or make the diagram.

      Like

  5. hi! I love these slippers! But cannot-for the life of me- find the pattern (or diagram) anywhere anymore! It seems the designer simply disappeared! where can i find either the pattern or the designer (to request the pattern from her) I appreciate any help!
    Thx in advance

    Like

    1. I’ve just gone onto Ravelry to check this out and it seems she’s taken all her patterns down. Very strange! There are some similar ones on Ravelry (if you’re are a member of the site you can browse here but this particular one is nowhere to be found. I’m not sure if I have the original, either, because I’ve moved computers since I made them.
      Sorry I couldn’t be of more help.

      Like

  6. I’ve made several pair and I’m a beginner with no pattern. It’s not hard to figure the pattern out by looking at it. It’s a veeerrryy easy pattern and they Crochet up QUICK!

    Like

Because it's just me talking if you don't comment!

