FO: Zombie Starflower socks

FO: Zombie Starflower socks

starflower fo4 (by dyedinthewool)

Pattern: Starflower Socks by Jeannie Cartmel [My Ravelry Project Page]
Yarn: Krafty Koala BFL/Nylon sock yarn in Gothic Rose colour.  70 g (280.0 yards/256.0m) used

starflower fo3 (by dyedinthewool)

Needles and knitting style: 2.5 mm Knit Picks Harmony DPNs and combination/continental style
Sock style: Toe up: wedge toe, garter stitch short row heel over 60% of foot stitches.

starflower fo1 (by dyedinthewool)

Dates: 1st October – 3oth November 2009
Modifications/notes:

  • These socks were knit for the Ravelry group Sock Knitters Anonymous KAL for October 2009 as part of the designer challenge
  • Pattern is more of a recipe than a line-by-line pattern so I used a short-row garter stitch heel over 60% of the foot stitches and used Judy’s Magic Cast on for the toe start
  • I used a 2/2 rib for the top instead of a 1/1 as in the pattern

starflower fo5 (by dyedinthewool)

  • When moving from the heel to the leg I knit the back half of the stitches plain for one pattern repeat.
  • I cast off my knitting 2 sts, moving these sts back to the left hand needle and working a k2tog, purling the next stitch, moving the two sts from right to left needle and p2tog. I don’t know if it has a special name – can anyone enlighten me?

starflower fo2 (by dyedinthewool)

4 thoughts on “FO: Zombie Starflower socks

  1. Pretty!

    I’ve noticed that a garter stitch short row heel wears really well. I’ve only used it once so far but I must remember to use it more often as my pile of socks waiting to be darned is growing very quickly.

    Like

Because it's just me talking if you don't comment!

