I’m a good girl, I am

I’m a good girl, I am

Bwhahahahaha! I know, but go with me on this one!

(I know I said I’d be back with a finished object next post but, although it is finished, I’ve not been well enough to do photographs. Sorry to say but on balance, if it’s my health or this blog, the health-thing wins out.  I’ve been on self-imposed bed rest since last Wednesday and although I’m slowly getting better I’m not going to rush my recovery because I know from bitter experience that I will only get worse if I do.  And I’m fighting off a cold. Yeah. I break – I can’t catch one.)

I’ve decided on a one-out, one-in policy for my knitting and crochet.  I know, but we’ll see how long that lasts!

  • Having spend several hours ripping out the previous shawl (like I said, I’m not well) and winding it back onto the cone, I remembered something I’d come across while I was tidying;

conestand (by dyedinthewool)

Cone Stand

I asked my dad to make me this after I’d bought my first cone of yarn so I could unwind the yarn rather than having spooling off the top.  He made me two sizes of … twirly bits for different sizes of cone and they sit on the spike and rotate.  He’s clever my dad, isn’t he?

So, armed with my reclaimed prize I set to knitting Wendyknit’s Sandvik shawl

sandvik1 (by dyedinthewool)

So far, so good!  It’s simple enough for my puny mind of cope with and I’m hoping not too monotonous that I get bored.

  • I may have used the word “whore” on Anne P’s blog.  Sorry about that Anne!
  • I do have a teeny, tiny finished object to show you.

hotcup2 (by dyedinthewool)

This was a 3-day Mystery Pattern posted on the Holiday Mystery Gifts Yahoo Group and I had no idea what it was until the designer told us!  After day 2 I wondered if it was a willie-warmer.  Not, as it turns out.  It’s a “Hot Cup Pincher” designed to insulate your thumb and forefinger from the heat of a cup.

  • One place where I wasn’t “good”, per se, was on Get Knitted.

knitprointerchange (by dyedinthewool)

cascade220bothskeins (by dyedinthewool)

I’ve wanted a frankenwood interchangeable needle set for about 2 years now but was put off by how I was going to get it from the US to here.  In step Get Knitting and the renamed KnitPro kit.  It cost me no more than direct from KnitPicks (the price in pounds is the same as in converted dollars), plus I got free P&P and it arrived really quickly!  You’ll notice that I slipped a couple of skeins of yarn into my order and, again, this is something I’d wanted to order from the states.  I’m planning to make a Snapdragon beret from Whimsical Little Knits 2 by Ysolda Teague out of the plain purple Cascade 220 and maybe some mittens out of the Quattro.

  • And finally; remember, a vagina is not a clown car.
6 thoughts on “I’m a good girl, I am

  1. Hope the Cold Fighting is going well. I am feeling slightly better. Doing nothing of course!!!
    Yes your dad is very clever, buttons are nice, hard to find good ones too. I am on a mission for buttons for my mum.
    Great needle acquisition, and fancy that wool jumping into the envelope.
    Thank you, a clown car was something I never really thought about till now: thank you.

    Like

  2. I’ve had occasion to use those needles once (they came with a project that was sent from volunteer to volunteer as a comfort to a fellow knitter) and they were like butter. Your new shawl is coming along swimmingly and the new yarn is beautiful. Someday I hope to know someone clever enough to build me knitting tools! In this life it will probably have to be me – lol

    Like

  3. Not a problem! I’m betting there’s been worse said on the blog!

    Your dad IS quite smart – I will have to show those pics to the hubs and see if maybe he can make me something similar for cones! Brilliant!

    Like

Because it's just me talking if you don't comment!

