FO: Gusset Heel Basic Socks

FO: Gusset Heel Basic Socks

gussetheelfo1 (by dyedinthewool)

Pattern: (name, author, source) Gusset Heel Basic Socks (Ravelry project link) from Socks from the Toe Up by Wendyknits

Size(s): (to fit, finished size) Women’s Large to fit 9″ foot/ankle circumference

Yarn: (name, fibre, weight, colour) Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sock in “Devon”, wool/nylon fingering/sock-weight

Needles: (size, material, style) 2.25 mm bamboo dpns

Knitting style: (for stitch patterns) Combination/continental throughout

Heel and toe style: Toe-up, wedge toe, gusset heel

gussetheelfo4 (by dyedinthewool)

Modifications: None.

Notes: I may not be the fastest sock knitter in the world, but I get there eventually!

This was a well-written pattern and the fit is great.

I found two small errors, one in the heel instructions and one in the ribbing.  For the largest size, the heel turn sould read K33 not K35 and in the ribbing, if you don’t decrease or increase two stitches before starting the ribbing, you end up with 4 knit stitches at the start/end of round.

If I ever need a basic sock pattern, I think this is one I would gravitate towards automatically now.

gussetheelfo3 (by dyedinthewool)

9 thoughts on “FO: Gusset Heel Basic Socks

  1. I like the simple stocking stitch socks too, they show up the colours in the wool so well. I have two lots of self striping kind of wool and I shall make very boring plain socks too!!

    Like

Because it's just me talking if you don't comment!

