The Galloway Peninsular

The Galloway Peninsular

Howdy! Long-time no blog! I’ve been busy recently and a bit stressed, so I treated myself to a weekend away. I went to the Galloway peninsular in south-western Scotland (it’s the bit that sticks out into the Irish sea and is just 20-odd miles away from Northern Ireland).

Apart from getting stuck in a traffic jam for over two hours that resulted from a fatal car crash (can’t really complain, I wasn’t dead and I got some knitting done) the trip went well.

Here are a few photographic highlights (the full set is here):

IMG_3443 (by dyedinthewool)
Portpatrick shrouded in early morning fog

IMG_3454 (by dyedinthewool)
Wigtown – Best. Bookshop. Ever.

Seriously, it was like a TARDIS in there – seven kinds of awesome!

IMG_3455 (by dyedinthewool)
Kirkcudbright (pronounced ker-koo-bree) showing signs of spring

365:095alt (by dyedinthewool)
Thank the gods for the Co-op – I bought a make-shift picnic lunch and ate it overlooking the harbour at Kirkcudbright. How British is that?

IMG_3479 (by dyedinthewool)
The Mull of Galloway (most southerly point in Scotland) and its lighthouse – stunning place. Very, very windy (obviously!)

IMG_3500 (by dyedinthewool)
Feeding some mountain goats in the New Galloway Forest – their eyes look just unreal!

7 thoughts on “The Galloway Peninsular

  1. Ooo – thanks for the virtual tour. I think we were in parts of this area a few years ago, but I guess I missed all the good stuff (like the bookstore!!).

    Glad you are back safely and hope you had a restful time.

    Like

Because it's just me talking if you don't comment!

