Now with added crochet!

Now with added crochet!

Hang on!  Come back!  Sorry for mentioning the c-word, I promise this isn’t going to turn into a crochet blog!

See how pretty?

treenah 02-12-08 2

I love the texture you can achieve with crochet and how lacy stitch patterns are so much easier.

And also – woohoo!  I managed to start with 41 stitches and I currently have 41 stitches.

treenah 02-12-08 1

3 pattern repeats of the lace.  You’ll have to trust me that the sides are straight; the lace part pulls in quite a lot.

You have no idea how happy this makes me!  The above is the Treenah scarf from the inaugural issue of The Inside Loop and is destined for my neighbour’s neck.

I keep checking and it does look like the pattern photograph.  The designer used alpaca, but my neighbour can’t have anything woolly/itchy near her, so I’m using an acrylic.  I’m hoping I’ll be able to block it out and I may even apply heat to try and “kill” the yarn so it stays blocked.

An “interesting” week:

The past seven days haven’t been easy because it contained anniversaries of both of my grandfather’s deaths.  It’s also been very cold and I don’t do well when the temperature drops below about 20 C!

Look what happened on Saturday:

fog

Spooky!

More traditional pursuits:

I’ve been knitting steadily on my three active projects and here is where I am with all of them;

Veste Everest/Cricket vest for my mum:

vesteeverest 02-12-08

4 repeats completed, with 1 full repeat of 14 rows plus 12 rows to go before armhole shaping.

Toe Up Socks with a Difference:

sockswithdiff 02-12-08

Just knitting around on the leg now – totally mindless, but has to be done!

Mystery socks/Mad for Plaid:

mysterysocks 02-12-08

I’m only doing a couple of rounds a day on these so it’s slow-going and I’m still on the gusset decreases on the second sock.  The first sock’s toe has been grafted.

Erm … yeah.  So.  A mixed time in the past seven days, but could have been worse!

If you celebrated Thanksgiving I hope it went well.  As well as large gatherings of family ever can, of course!

Next time, I’ll tell you why I agreed to design a garment for a knit along for free!  Hint: the answer may involve questioning my mental stability!

3 thoughts on “Now with added crochet!

  1. Ahh you are so busy despite the temperature and everyhting is looking so good. I don’t do so well when it is ABOVE 20*C!! Nice crocheting, I ‘sully’ my blog quite regularly with things that aren’t knitting!! Oh can’t wait for the mental stability report!!

    Like

  2. I’m sure you know this, but be careful with the heat and acrylic – we melted some once and it weren’t purty =)

    Everything looks great! I’m glad someone out there can comprehend the crochet instructions. I just look at it and boggle.

    Like

  3. You’d think I’d remember plastic + heat = not good, but you’d be surprised!

    Also – 😦 I’m not a comment-hoar, but I need affirmation, people. I’m very insecure, you know. And what Kate said about the kittens in the last blog isn’t true – really, it isn’t! 😀

    Like

Because it's just me talking if you don't comment!

