Esme

Esme

esmeamypickard6
Esme (pronounced ezz-mee, it’s a Scottish girl’s name!) is a quickly-knitted hat which gives you two looks in one.  Worn on the top of the head, it’s a tam.  With the cabled brim pulled down over the ears, it becomes a cloche hat.  Knit at a tighter tension than recommended, the yarn makes a warm fabric, perfect for the cooler weather.

esmeamypickard7 esmeamypickard3
Yarn: 1 (2, 2, 2) skeins Sirdar Click Chunky (75 m/50 g) in colour: 0155 (Echo).  Adult Medium used 70 g (approx. 105 m)

esmeamypickard1

Tension/gauge:
16 sts and 21 rows = 10cm/4inches in stocking stitch in the round
Note: for substitution purposes, chose a yarn with a tension of 14 sts and 19 rows = 10 cm/4 inches in stocking stitch.

esmeamypickard4 esmeamypickard8

9 thoughts on “Esme

  1. LOVE IT! As well as your new sweater pattern as well. They are perfect for the fall-into-winter season too – how timely!

    (PS – what does the word “esme” mean?)

    Like

  2. I knew I recognized the name when I saw the little thumbnail of the pattern…then I saw your photo(I really am sooo horrible at remembering names!).
    Love it!!! Planing on knitting it once I have all the christmas presents done.

    P.S.: Esme like Mistress Weatherwax?

    Like

  3. Thank you for the pattern! I love this hat – I made mine with some cheapy chunky (James Brett Marble) and it looks fab – I’ve had no end of compliments about it, even from strangers on the bus. I love the fact that I can pull it over my ears without looking like a complete dork!

    In fact, I made a neck warmer to echo the cables in the beret, and as I had some made some cable mitts already, I’m terribly smart and subtly co-ordinated :o)

    One day, I’ll get pictures up on my blog and/or ravelry

    Like

Because it's just me talking if you don't comment!

