Knit one, purl one, repeat ad infinitum

Knit one, purl one, repeat ad infinitum

Why won’t this scarf end?

Oh, yeah; I’m knitting it and I’m ultra-frugal so I’m going to use every.  last.  centimetre of this yarn.

For comparison, here’s where I left you in suspense, at the half way point:

stripe scarf 11-10-08

And here’s where I am now:

stripe scarf 21-10-08

I may need to clean the mirror

I may also need to find a better way of photographing this for the FO post!

I’m seriously tempted to cast this off now (I may have done so by the time you’re reading this) and use the remaining yarn to make some fingerless mitts. The scarf is now 5′ 6″ long (as you can see from the handy scale in the photo) and it seems plenty long enough.

Shawl/Stole:

It’s a bit monotonous with the Anniversary Shawl as well.  I’m now past the halfway mark on the edging, so every repeat is another repeat closer to the finish!

anniversary shawl 21-10-08

It’s a bit frustrating that I can’t quite photograph it in a full circle yet, but I’m getting there.

Serendipity/Mystery Stole 4 is plodding along nicely as well.  Clue 4 has been completed and, in a master stroke of genius, I decided to knit Clue 5 next.

ms4 21-10--08

Towards the end of Clue 4 it suddenly occurred to me that I have to knit all these clues again.  Duh.  How I managed to trick my tutors and examiners into giving me a degree, I’ll never know!

Some thoughts from the last post:

I have a really intelligent bunch of people reading my blog you know!  There were some very interesting and good points raised, and some I hadn’t really thought of.

Growing up in something of a lapsed-Christian/secularist society I’m used to not being offended by public showings of religion (hijab, silver bangles, crosses on necklaces, turbans) and my parents brought me up to be respectful of other peoples points of view.

However, I can see why people were upset about the inclusion of the verse in the pattern, and Debi had a great point in questioning why it was there in the first place.

I welcome new ideas being presnted to me and I also relish my views and beliefs being challenged, so feel free to continue the discussion in the comments if you want!  Apart from Mrs Dr Who, because you are now banned for mentioning cheese toasties and making me hungry! 😀

7 thoughts on “Knit one, purl one, repeat ad infinitum

  1. Excellent, she should be banned, banned I tell you from making all those “I’m first to comment’ comments on everyone’s blog. Then, that’s all she says!!!
    Nice handy measure you have there!!!

    Like

  2. Crikey! How cold does it get there in the UK? You’re going to look like a striped mummy wearing that if you’re not careful 🙂 Of course now I want to make one because it’s super pretty…

    Like

Because it's just me talking if you don't comment!

