No fish please, we’re Atheists

No fish please, we’re Atheists

Looks pretty, doesn’t it?

ms4 17-10-08

I like it.  I thought there was a little of the Paisley design in the early stages and then came some more geometric patterns so I wasn’t sure what the “theme” was.  It turns out it’s “Serendipity”; a collection of patterns the designer liked and used together.

No controversy there, you’d think.  Until, in the last clue, the designer posted a bible verse (John 3:16, to be precise) and all hell broke loose (pardon the pun) because people were accusing her of including Christian imagery in the stole.

See any?

No, me either.

I think people are just waiting to be offended at the moment.  A different, less confrontational, verse could have been chosen or no verse at all but, to be honest, I’m not personally offended.  I’m getting a free pattern and a beautiful stole out of this.  Sigh.  It’s scary out there kids!

This rant was brought to you by the letters I, B and S. 😀

In other knitting news:

I’m cruising nicely along the edging to the Anniversary shawl

anniversary shawl 17-10-08 1

The black paper clips are the quarter markers

anniversary shawl 17-10-08 2

Progress as of today.

This think is going to be huge.  Help me!

I’ve also dug out this yarn:

o-wool balance

which is going to become a Veste Evereste (Ravelry Link and Interweave shop link) from the Fall 2005 issue of Interweave Knits for my mum.  I was originally planning this for her birthday in March but I knew I had no chance so I relegated it to Christmas.

I’m a tad concerned that I haven’t got enough yarn.  I bought 5 balls of the cream for the main part and 1 of the “red” to use as trim.  This should be enough to make the 34″ finished size, but I’m not sure this will have enough ease in it for my mum’s tastes.  I’m either going to try and get another ball or two of the cream or knit the whole thing on a slightly larger needle than I would ordinarily.

Another thought was to use a temporary cast on, knit the top as designed (in the 34″ size) and if I have any of the red or cream left, knit it a bit longer.

Ideas?  Opinions?

Gadgets:

Look what WordPress has given me! (Make sure you allow Polldaddy.com if you have a script-blocker)

Go on, vote! 😀

8 thoughts on “No fish please, we’re Atheists

  1. Unless the Mystery Stole turns into the Shroud of Turin I can’t see what the fuss is about. Of course if a lacy crucifix suddenly appears you know you have been suckered!
    Face of the Virgin Mary in your cheese toastie?
    Maybe you will knit a money spinner!!!! Sell it on Ebay.

    Like

  2. I seem to remember a similar brouhaha over one of the other mystery shawl patterns a while back, because some people thought that it was going to be satanic or summink… Meh. If you like the pattern, knit it. If you’re worried that people are going to see you wearing the shawl and point at you because of overt symbolism of any sort in the stitches, then don’t. Sorted. 😛

    And I’m glad I’m not the only one who stalks their pattern activity to see if their patterns are being noticed. 😉

    Like

  3. Oh, just wanted to add that by “you” i didn’t mean YOU, but just everyone taking part in mystery shawl knitalongs… *curses lack of clarity in English language*

    Like

  4. Kate, I like the German use of you, wth du, Ihr and Sie for You Familar, You Polite and You Plural!!!
    I’m looking ofr something Holy, and I should know, but I can only see the holey, so you should be safe!!

    Like

  5. Funny what people will freak out about. Let’s not and say we did =) Both shawls are really rocking along. I really like the edge of the anniversary shawl, it’s very pretty.

    Like

  6. I dunno if it’s “controversial” but I’m not sure I get why she would include a biblical reference if it has no significance. Since not everyone who knits is Christian, I find it a bit off putting to be honest.

    Whatever….both shawls are gorgeous 🙂

    Like

  7. All excellent points – my gods/lack of gods I have intelligent readers! 😀

    I’ve stated publicly that I’m not a Christian and have be brought up in a pretty secular society, and so I should be irked by the inclusion of the verse, but I’m not. At the moment, there just seem to be bigger fish to fry (no pun intended)!

    Thanks for the compliments on the knitting!

    Like

Because it's just me talking if you don't comment!

