It’s all Norma’s fault

It’s all Norma’s fault

I try and resist the lure of the meme, but this one quite appealed to me. Plus, Norma started it!  (Knitting content at the end, as a reward!)

1. My uncle once had three weddings (one marriage) to the same woman.

2. Never in my life have I been outside Europe.

3. When I was five I was probably the happiest I have ever been.

4. High school was a bit of a Curate’s Egg.

5. I will never rule anything in or out.

6. Once I met Sir Cyril Smith.

7. There’s this boy I know in Halifax whom I’m technically still going out with (we were 7 and never actually broke up!).

8. Once, at a bar I had to stop my Grandmother from embarrassing me.  Again.

9. By noon, 90% of the time, I’m awake.

10. Last night I watched Saw 3 and knit a swatch (at the same time).

11. If only I had some good health.

12. Next time I go to church it will probably be for a funeral (again).

13. What worries me most is the health and well being of my parents.

14. When I turn my head left I get a pain in a chest muscle.

15. When I turn my head right I get the same pain in a chest muscle!

16. You know I’m lying if I tell you I will vote for the BNP.

17. What I miss most about the Eighties is good health.

18. If I were a character in Shakespeare I’d be one of the ones in a comedy who has a happy ending!

19. By this time next year I doubt much will have changed.

20. A better name for me would be Mrs. Zaphod Beeblebrox.

21. I have a hard time understanding intolerant and disrespectful people.

22. If I ever go back to school, I’ll be doing my Masters degree in Science and Society.

23. You know I like you if I’m willing to touch you.

24. If I ever won an award, the first person I would thank would be my mum.

25. Take my advice: always wear sunscreen.

26. My ideal breakfast starts at 11 am and finishes at about 2 pm!

27. A song I love but do not have is: “Paint it Black” by the Rolling Stones.

28. If you visit my hometown, I suggest that you’ve taken a wrong turning and you meant to go somewhere nice.

29. Why won’t people shut the hell up at 3 am and go to sleep like normal folk?

30. If you spend a night at my house be prepared for noisy neighbours.

31. I’d stop my wedding for flood, famine, a better offer?

32. The world could do without ignorance.

33. I’d rather lick the belly of a cockroach than watch Big Brother.

34. My favorite blondie is Debbie Harry.

35. Paper clips are more useful than a poke in the eye with a sharp stick?

36. If I do anything well it’ll be a miracle!

37. I can’t help but I probably know someone who can.

38. I usually cry at photos, film and stories from the Holocaust.

39. My advice to my nephew/niece: don’t you dare be conceived yet, I’m too young to be an auntie.

40. And by the way, I did the swatch for the Mystery Stole4.

ms4swatch

The upper part of the swatch is one repeat worked on a 5 mm needles, the lower are three repeats worked on a 4 mm needle.  I much prefer the latter.

Although they don’t really show up well on camera, I’m favouring the iridescent (dark) beads over the pearlescent (light) beads.

If the first clue contains beads, I’ll still wait to see some finished clues before I start.  I want to see how prominent the beads need to be to work in the pattern.  My gut instinct is to choose the darker beads not solely based on their look, but also because I can use the crochet hook to put them on the yarn.  The holes in the pale beads are too small to use the hook and the dental floss method takes me at least twice as long to do!

Look what colour the rinse water turned:

ms4water

It stained the towel I was blocking it on, too.  I need to remember that!

11 thoughts on “It’s all Norma’s fault

  1. I like the latter more too! You’ve got time to decide on the beads. You know there are always the overachievers who knit the whole thing in 3 days anyway!

    Like

  2. I also like the bottom section. 🙂

    I’ve not used the crochet method of adding beads before, but am going to try for my next shawl as I don’t fancy stringing 500+ beads onto laceweight yarn. So I bought a 0.75mm hook last week. It scares me with its tinyness. 😛

    Like

  3. I like the lace and I think the darker beads look better. I still owe MrsDrWho beaded socks. I expect this will remind her!! Nice to hear you have an imaginary husband too, MrsZB!!

    Like

  4. I’m confused about the rinse water – what IS that? Scary

    Love your list =) and the swatch is very pretty, and I agree about the beads, too – they look better in my opinion, and the fact that they are easier to deal with, all the better to bead you with.

    Like

  5. I’ve pretty much decided on the darker beads and the definitely the 4 mm needle!
    The rinse water was just plain cold water with no soap or anything and that’s the colour it went – scary! 🙂

    Like

  6. @kate – it is a good one, isn’t it! A bit different from the usual ones you get.

    @sil – I’ve no idea about the rinse water. I’m thinking it’s lanolin or some other grease, but it’s odd that it all came out in COLD water. Tres etrange.

    Like

  7. Good answers. like to see someone who approaches sentence beginnings by sidling around the corner and using squinty eyes to read them! I bet you draw boxes onto forms when they dont have the “right” ones!

    Like

Because it's just me talking if you don't comment!

