Ready, Set, Go!

Ready, Set, Go!

Watching the Olympic opening ceremony and the first Work In Progress has it’s dust blown off it.

ravelympics start

I only had 2 repeats of 22 rows to do, but I managed to finish the knitting part at 16:30 BST (British Summer Time) on the 8th of August.

strawberryjoeknitfin

The temporary cast on was removed (note to self – there is a reason they tell you to use smooth yarn for this)

strawberryjoetempcaston

Grafting was quick and painless, following the excellent instructions in Woollywormhead’s book.

strawberryjoegrafting

Even if I did run out yarn towards the end!

Panic-stations!  I turned the hat around and grafted from the other end and just made it!

strawberryjoepanic

Everything was finished at 23:30 and the hat got a good blocking overnight

And is now read to wear!

Strawberry Joe mosaic

Pattern: Strawberry Joe by WoollyWormhead from “Going Straight” [Ravelry Project Page]

Yarn and needle size: King Cole Fashion Aran knit on 4.5 mm straight bamboo needles.

Size knit: Medium (20-21 inches head circumference)

Notes and modifications: No mods – none needed!  Lovely, easy to understand pattern.

Unusually for me, I found it easier to knit from the written instructions as opposed to the charts.  The hat is shaped with short rows and I think the chart confused me a bit.  For the next hat I make from this book, I may read the chart in unison with the written version and see if it “clicks” with me.

First finished item for The Ravelympics 2008 (Team Rubberneckers, Event WIP Wrestling).

8 thoughts on “Ready, Set, Go!

Because it's just me talking if you don't comment!

