FO: Moss Shawl (yes, at last!)

FO: Moss Shawl (yes, at last!)

moss shawl 2

Name: Moss Shawl [Ravelry project page]

moss shawl 4

Pattern: (name, author, source) Mystery Shawl 2 a.k.a. Flowing River by Renee Leverington.  Originally a free pattern via a Yahoo Group, now available here.
Size(s): (to fit, finished size) 140 cm by 60 cm/55 in. by 24 in.
Yarn: (name, fibre, weight, colour) Hand Painted Yarns Lace, 100% pure merino wool, lace-weight, in Olive/Olivia.
Needles: (size, material, style) 3.25 mm aluminium circular needle, plus 1 straight needle for the border
Knitting style: (for stitch patterns) Combination
Modifications: Followed as per original, mystery group instructions.

Moss Shawl mosaic

1. moss shawl blocking, 2. moss shawl 6, 3. moss shawl 3, 4. moss shawl 1, 5. moss shawl 5, 6. moss shawl border blocking

Notes: Finally finished! Just 2 and a half years after I started!  You have no idea how relieved I am to have this finished.  And what’s even more amazing is that I love the finished product.

This shawl was like a light-weight, pretty, millstone around my neck and I’m so glad that it’s done and dusted!

My shawl is much smaller (140 cm by 60 cm/55 in. x 24 in.) because of the much smaller needle size used than that recommended in the “Flowing River” instructions. For the same reason, I used *a lot* less yarn.

There were some rumblings about this in the original Yahoo group and quite a few people were upset. This was my first “real” lace project, so I didn’t know any better!

I’m happy with the shoulder-shawl size I’ve ended up with, and I have more than enough yarn left over (40 g) to make a scarf.

Tags: , , , ,

Powered by Qumana

14 thoughts on “FO: Moss Shawl (yes, at last!)

  1. Gorgeous! Am very impressed that you finished it after so long as well. Long-term projects of mine have a habit of being frogged..!

    Like

  2. So nice and green and it co-ordinates with your hair!!!
    Were the rumblings about how much yarn it used???
    It looks very swish and exactly the right size!!

    Like

  3. With out any sarcasm at all…that shawl is bloody beautiful!!!!!!
    really. it is magnificent.
    I accord it the highest honour my family can give….
    “It looks like a bought one”

    Like

  4. Very beautiful! I especially love the colour. Small triangular shawls have more uses … my Ene is a small one too … and I often use it as a scarf, which is very convenient.

    Like

Because it's just me talking if you don't comment!

