Fifth time’s the charm?

Fifth time’s the charm?

Or OMG – like, knitting, right?

I’ve never made a circular shawl before but, confident / arrogant as ever I thought "How difficult can it be?"…

I started with Emily Ocker’s circular cast on (beautifully detail here).

Somehow, I manage to twist my knitting into something hideous, so out it came.

Going back to the tried-and-tested circular cast-on method I went to Judy and her magic.

Not once, not twice, but three times!

Having finally decided that I had to do this ONE. STEP. AT. A. TIME., I colour-coded my needles with my highlighter pens and started again.

Emily Ocker’s cast-on and actually watching what I was doing did the trick and bingo!

mystery shawl clue 1 finished 1

Note the Willam Shatner-esque girdle ’round the ball of yarn.

circular shawl or olympus mons

Looks a bit like Olympus Mons!

First clue for the Goddess Anniversary Mystery Shawl a.k.a. the Choose Your Own Adventure Shawl, she is done!

Anticipating that the "Clues" will get more complex I started marking the symbols with different coloured highlight pens.

shawl with marked pattern

Hopefully I’ll come to associate a colour with an action and this should speed the process up (in theory).

Tags: , , , ,

Powered by Qumana

6 thoughts on “Fifth time’s the charm?

  1. WOW, and OW! sigh, but by the time you do it THAT many times, you really really really really really learn it lol =) I have confidence in confidence aloooooone….

    okay, I have confidence in your ability to “speed the process up (in theory).” yeah, that’s it =)

    Like

  2. William Shatner’s girdle, and I was just thinking about eating lunch!!! I usually colour in the symbols on my charts- I find it much easier to remember what they mean when they are coloured. My mind just works that way….. I’ve never coloured the needles though!!!!!

    Like

Because it's just me talking if you don't comment!

