FO: Bill

FO: Bill

Bill finished 1

Larger photo ( 1024 x 778 )

Name: Gansey cardigan for my dad’s birthday 2008 (Ravelry project page)

Bill modelled front

Modelled by me, for scale!

Larger photo (500 x 394)

Pattern: (name, author, source) Bill, by Debbie Bliss from the Rowan 28 magazine

Size(s): (to fit, finished size) To fit: 44″ chest. Actual measurement: 50″

Yarn: (name, fibre, weight, colour) King Cole Fashion Aran in “Granery”, Wool/acrylic mix yarn. Approx. 700g used.

Bill modelled back

Larger photo (500 x 434)

Needles: (size, material, style) US 6, 7 and 8 plastic Denise Interchangeable set.

Knitting style: (for stitch patterns) Combination (yarn in left hand, purl stitches wrapped clockwise around needle) throughout.

Bill reclining

Larger photo (1070 x 1102)

Modifications: Knit a size smaller than recommended for a less baggy fit. Converted from a pullover into a v-neck cardigan. Substituted the Rowan All Seasons Cotton in the pattern for a wool/acrylic mix.

Notes: This was a really well-written pattern and I didn’t find any errors for the size I knit.

Bill cardigan details mosaic

Larger photo (615 x 615)

I encounted some tricky times when I was designing the v-neck, but I ripped out and it was all good!

I have two small concerns: (1) the buttons may be a little too small for the buttonholes and (2) it may be a little on the short side (see the cardigan on me for an idea why!) I’ll report back on this issues once it’s been given to my dad on his birthday in a few days time.

I increased two stitches every other row for the v-neck in the buttonband, and decreased at the same rate for the intersection of the fronts and backs. This was to allow the band to follow the contours of the garment and hopefully to allow it to lay flat.

This yarn originally started out as an Aran (cabled) cardigan that I was designing myself. I made a real mess of it and I didn’t like it at all. I ripped out and went looking for a more suitable pattern to turn into a cardigan. I found Bill!

Tags: , , , , , ,

Powered by Qumana

5 thoughts on “FO: Bill

  1. Excellent modelling! Looks fabulous and your dad can sing: I love him because he’s wonderful,
    Because he’s just my Bill!!!
    I don’t think you should have tortured the cardigan like you did in the first photo. Very Wicker Man!!!

    Like

  2. It’s lovely. 🙂 I’ve always liked that pattern and the nice cheery old gentleman modelling it in the magazine. I’m sure your dad will love it!

    Like

Because it's just me talking if you don't comment!

