Where was I?

Where was I?

Oh, well, best laid plans and all that!

I’ve only just unpacked from my holiday and not really stopped spinning because of the slight distraction of having various tradesmen wandering in and out of the house at sparrows-fart.

Beold the newly plastered hole in the celing!

plaster

And all because the lady loves a burst hot water pipe! It ruined the bathroom floor/kitchen ceiling so there will be flooring and wallpaper and everything (however I’m not sure who’ll be fitting the floor because it’s not down on the schedule of works)!

I have managed some knitting, see?

hedera mid-feb

The Hedera socks for me are whizzing along nicely, thank you for asking, and I’ve also finished one half of a pair of Fetching mitts for my mum (no photo because even if you haven’t knit a pair you almost certainly know what they look like!).

I’ve also managed some more on my dad’s Gansey cardigan:

bill back 22-02-08

The patterning is pretty easy to knit, but the “Pine Tree” or chevron section requires both the chart and concentration, where as the diagonal one is really easy and can be done with just a tiny bit of prompting.

I’ve also finally bought some yarn for a much longed-for and much anticipated project for my mum:

o-wool balance

For years she’s wanted a sleeveless pullover in a cricket-style (fairly simple in design with cables and a v-neck) in cream and Lancashire-red. Being a bit of an old young hippie, I picked Vermont Organic O-Wool Balance as the perfect yarn for her – it’s a cotton/merino blend, perfect for her sensitive skin and it’s organic to boot! Well, the closest I could get with the Balance was natural (correct) and ruby (a little pink-ish for the red-rose county, but it will do!)

I’ve got my eye on Veste Everest by Veronik Avery from the Fall/Autumn 2005 issue of Interweave Knits (Ravlery link) which is pretty much perfect in terms of style and the sizing seems perfect. I’ll be knitting the second size in the pattern. Hurrah for skinny people making my knitting life easier (hint, hint dad!)! 😀

Powered by Qumana

6 thoughts on “Where was I?

  1. High on a hill here (our hills are alive) I have 17 going on 18 vests. I can see the plaster bites, and the fee stings. How do you solve a problem like a floor?? Mother’s in white vests with ruby red sashes: these are a few of my favourite things!!! Follow every rainbow, till you find your dream. Now I’m off for a cup of Do Re Mi Fa So La TEA!!!! (Doh!)

    Like

  2. The socks look so squishy and pretty. The Gansey is progressing very nicely, won’t be too terribly much longer and it’ll be an FO! I love the stuff you got for your mom’s vest, that’s going to be lovely =)

    too bad about the leak, tho =(

    Like

  3. Beautiful Hedera Socks! I’ve had my eye on that particular vest for a while too. I might have to go pull out the magazine and take another gander at it now…..

    Like

Because it's just me talking if you don't comment!

