The Lake District February 2008

The Lake District February 2008

Note: this is a quite image-intensive post. Apologies to those on dial-up or limited broadband.

Just a week and a bit after returning home, I finally have some photos to share!

I took a lot fewer pictures than on previous trips. There were a couple of reasons for this; the cold, the wet, the cold, the juggling two crutches and a camera, the cold and finally the cold.

I’ve cherry-picked a few of the best to show here, but for a slideshow of all 17 (!) of them go here.

I stayed in the town of Windermere, approximately 1 mile from the lake of Windermere itself.

The view north from Bowness-on-Windermere:

windermere from bowness

An atmospheric shot from the west across to the east of the mere (mere is a Cumbiran word for lake):

atmospheric windermere

There was some snow on the high peaks, thanks to some falling on the Saturday before I arrived. It’s still a lot less than was there even 10 years ago (so say the locals). I was delighted to see it in any case!

An un-remembered body of water with some snowy peaks behind:

snowy fells

The crag of Helvellyn:

helvellyn 1

I ran out of time (and energy) so unfortunately I wasn’t able to actually go around, but The Lake District has it’s own Pencil Museum!

I captured this old van outside the museum/shop:

pencil museum van

I had a very nice and relaxing time in Grasmere, especially in the daffodil garden behind the small church there. In the graveyard, William Wordsworth and family are buried and this garden is dedicated to him. It was pretty tranquil and I enjoyed eating my lunch there!

Overlooking the daffodil garden and towards the river:

wordsworth daffodil garden

And to prove that it wasn’t always rainy or overcast, here’s some sunshine!

daffodil garden sunshine

There were a couple of places I wasn’t quite so taken with, but I wouldn’t have known that if I hadn’t visited them! All-in-all, I over did it (again) but it was a lovely break from day-to-day life and I’ve finally been to the Lakes (something which everyone else around here seems to have done).

Powered by Qumana

6 thoughts on “The Lake District February 2008

  1. How could you pass on the Pencil Museum??? What a nice van!! Very moody pictures, though it might look like that here tomorrow!!! I am glad you had anice Lakes trip. I liked the show: The Lakes. It had John Simm!!!

    Like

Because it's just me talking if you don't comment!

