In with the new

Come on. What did you expect when the previous post was called “Out with the old”?

So, what’s new?

Well, this is WIP Wednesday Thursday, so here’s a quick run-down of what’s on my needles and active. Check out my Works in Progress page – it’s bad, kids, it really is!

1. Hedera socks in TOFUtsies sock yarn.

hedera 10-01-08

I’ve cast on for another sock because, apparently, I just don’t have enough to do! I’m probably one of the last people around to cast on for these, but I can see why they are popular. The pattern is really easy to memorise and works with a wide variety of yarns. The TOFUtsies is doing some really weird pooling, but I’m not too concerned about that. Let’s be honest here; who sees my socks? Me. Am I bothered about the pooling? No.

2. My dad’s Gansey/Jersey/Guernsey cardigan*

bill sleeve1

1st sleeve is done-ski and the back has been started. 74 rows of pure, unadulterated stocking stitch. Easy, or crazy-making? Come back soon to find out!

bill back progress 10-01-08

*I checked with my dad and it’s OK to called it a cardigan. If this were for my brother it would be a JACKET and it would have a ZIP and be MANLY. 🙂

3. Boudica Socks

Still going on the leg, but now almost at the horizontal detailing on the cuff (this seems to have been taking an age but progress is being made).

I’m not actively working on anything else at the moment, but I hope to keep stuff in rotation and work a few rows here and there on everything that are in my knitting boxes.

I had my birthday and my tribunal. Good and not so good, respectively. I still haven’t heard back from them as to whether or not my appeal has been successful (it’s now three days since the tribunal) although I’m absolutely certain that I’ll be turned down.

It was, without doubt, one of the most humiliating and traumatic events of my life. But, it’s all over and I got a caterpiller-shaped chocolate birthday cake the next day, so it’s not all bad!

To end on a positive note, here’s a sneak peek of my most recent finished object:

jessica sneak

4 thoughts on “In with the new

  1. All the WIP’s look awesome. The sock yarn looks very nice =) Hope the Tribunal turns out more on the positive side for ya. The fractional FO is pretty, too, nice color.

    Like

  2. What’s new Pussycat?? The Tofutsies are going gangbusters here: very popular!! I haven’t cast on for Hedera and I don’t think I will, but they look good.
    Caterpillar cake- how cool is that?? If you had shown more patience it could have turned into a butterfly cake!! Nice Dad knitting and oh, is that a vest???
    Hope there is a positive Tribunal result, I hate the waiting.

    Like

  3. I haven’t done Hedera either….I must be under the same rock you are! The vest – can’t wait to see a full pic! Stay positive about things – no point worrying until you hear the result!

    Like

  4. You’re definitely not the last knitter to knit Hedera. I do like the pattern though. I can see how much nicer it looks in Tofutsies with the lace, b/c I knit a stockinette sock and the pooling was awful. I never want to knit with it again, frankly.

    What’s a tribunal anyway?

    Like

Comments?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.