FO: Helping Hat for my brother

FO: Helping Hat for my brother

Helping Hat mosaic

Name: Birthday Hat for my lil bro (Ravelry Project Page).

Pattern: (name, author, source) Helping Hats (version C) by canKNITian

Size(s): (to fit, finished size) To fit my brother’s gigantic man-head.

hh brim macro1Yarn: (name, fibre, weight, colour) OnLine Tondo (super chunky wool), King Cole Magnum Chunky in Beige and Black (chunky wool/acrylic)

Needles: (size, material, style) US10 plastic Denise Interchangeables

Knitting style: (for stitch patterns) English in the round.

Modifications: Knit it from the top down because of the limited amount of yarn to hand.
Worked fewer rows of cable brim
Eliminated ribbed brim due to lack of yarn!

Notes: This was a super-quick pattern which is well written. It would have been done in about 2 days (instead of over a week) if I hadn’t kept changing my mind about how I wanted to use the colours.
pressie yarnOriginally I had a fourth colour to hand (a rich red colour, see photo right) but it really clashed with the green, so I discarded it.
The Tondo is a roving-like single ply super chunky and can be tricky to work with, but I found it quite easy to use. Mixing it with the Magnum Chunky (a multiple-ply chunky yarn) will, I hope, make it more resilient and help keep the hat’s shape.

So, to conclude – HAPPY BIRTHDAY LITTLE BROTHER! party static

6 thoughts on “FO: Helping Hat for my brother

  1. I love that hat! So textured and squishy looking =) Maybe I’ll try making that hat for my oldest once I recover from him losing the one I just made for him. (alpaca and merino =( good stuff down the elementary school drain, so to speak *cry*)

    Like

  2. Happy New Year Amy!! Hope you are having a good night/day: never quite sure, I think you might be in 2008 now!!! Hope you have a good year!!
    Number of New Year parties attended: 0
    Number of Christmas cards posted: Still 0!!!!
    Number of the Temperature: well I want to say 666 but it is actually 30*C at 10pm. We are too hot to live!!!
    Nice hat and what fast socks you knitted!! Too hot to knit here. Have I mentioned it is hot??????

    Like

Because it's just me talking if you don't comment!

