Waiting. Patience.

Waiting. Patience.

One of the things that knitting has taught me is the art of patience. Knitting something like my dad’s aran jacket requires this skill in vast amounts.

In order that I don’t get bored of the project too quickly (or never) I’ve switched from knitting the main body of the jacket to the sleeves (you can see the start of it in this photograph).

riker 01-12-07

I’m fairly certain that I’m not going to make it by Christmas, but that’s OK with me and there is a back up present ready.

I also learnt the art of patience last week when, on Monday, my maternal grandfather was admitted to hospital following a routine blood transfusion for his leukaemia.

Unfortunately, he died on Friday.

This came in the same week as the anniversary of my paternal grandfather’s death in 2003.

These events have been stressful for a number of reasons, not least of which is the fact that I couldn’t, and can’t, be with my grandmother. She’s not the easiest of people to be with anyway, but my physical limitations are frustrating.

I hadn’t seen my grandfather in over two years (for various reasons) and we weren’t terribly close, either emotionally or geographically, but obviously I am grieving.

At the moment I’m focusing on helping my mum in anyway I can, but still being aware of not smothering her (something I’m struggling with because we are a close family).

Unfortunately, my parents are also unable to travel at the moment and it’s all generally not good.

I’m sure we’ll muddle through (we have before) and I’ll keep knitting!

9 thoughts on “Waiting. Patience.

  1. I’m sorry for your loss. My mom’s youngest sister passed away suddenly a few weeks ago, so I’m sort of in the same position. We weren’t close, and hadn’t spoken in years. The rest of my family is having a rough time of it. She and her family lived in California, my parents and I live in Florida, and mom was unable to go out to be with them. It’s rough, I know.

    If you ever need to talk or anything, you know where to find me.

    Like

  2. OH =( sad. Give your mum a hug from me (that way, you aren’t smothering her, it’s from me not you) and then you can tell her to give you a hug from me, too. (like she knows who I am or something, ha) Anyway, hugs to all of you, grieving sucks =(

    Like

  3. So sorry about your loss. Even if you weren’t that close, he still was part of the family and it always hurts when a family member dies. Not beeing able to travel sucks even more, my dad couldn’t go either when his parents or any of his sisters passed away…

    Like

  4. i’m so sorry to hear of your loss. Even if you weren’t close, it’s still a family member and that’s hard to handle. Especially since it’s your mum’s dad.

    Like

  5. I’m catching up on my blog reading, and just got back to your site. I’m so sorry to read about your grandfather. I hope you and your family are doing well.

    Like

Because it's just me talking if you don't comment!

