FO: Urchin Hat

FO: Urchin Hat

Urchin mosaic

Name: Urchin hat

Pattern: (name, author, source) Urchin, Ysolda Teague, knitty Fall 2007

Size(s): (to fit, finished size) 22″

Yarn: (name, fibre, weight, colour) King Cole Magnum Chunky (Multi) in colour 213, 75% acrylic/25% wool, 72 g (approx. 90 yds/82 m)

Needles: (size, material, style) 9 mm plastic straights.

Knitting style: (for stitch patterns) English (yarn in right hand) throughout

Modifications: Knit in size L (to fit 22-24″) to fit M (20-22″) because of the smaller gauge of the yarn.

Added a wee crochet loop at the top for more cuteness!

Notes: Apart from me nodding off during the first “wedge” and making a mistake, plain sailing really.

This project helped me realise two things:

  1. I hate working with large needles. They are awkward to use and make my hands hurt.
  2. I have a mild obsession with the yarn in question. It’s pretty inexpensive (GB£2.50 for 100g), soft, quite hard-wearing, machine washable, and I can wear it next to my skin. What more could I want?
6 thoughts on “FO: Urchin Hat

  1. It looks really nice on you and the yarn does look very dreamy. I can do big needles here and there, but it does hurt more. The good thing about them is that the projects are so speedy. (your hair looks really good in these pics, too)

    Like

  2. I hate big needles too, they make my hands hurt too. Love the ‘Urchin’ look. Is that Urchin slowly but surely creeping backwards off your head????

    Like

  3. What a great hat! I really like it in that yarn too. I had looked at the pattern when it first came out, but wasn’t sure I’d like using the large needles, but I really like how it looks, so maybe I”ll give it a whirl!

    Like

Because it's just me talking if you don't comment!

