No, I trust you

No, I trust you

Those were the words uttered by my dad upon being asked if he wanted me to check the design of his Aran jacket with him.

Eep!

I like to name the stuff I design, because calling something “My Dad’s Aran Jacket” takes up too many words and too much energy! Hence forth, it shall be known as Riker. As in William T. Riker. From Star Trek.

I like to think that in his time off from Captaining a starship, Riker would scoot on over to a log cabin and throw on a replicated aran jacket.

What do you mean it’s weird to imagine sci-fi characters doing that sort of thing? It is not!

riker aran swatch
L to R: Box st., Lobster Claw, Noughts and Crosses, Barley Twist, Rev. st. st. (my names for them!)

These are the patterns I’ve picked out, and it’s now a matter of getting the maths right.

One slightly good thing about all the stuff recently was that I got my dad’s measurements for the garment.

Little Mum’s Socks:

lcs 24-08-07 1 lcs 24-08-07 2
Thanks to my Bagpuss pyjama case (what?!) for the modelling

I’ve been going along quite nicely on these now. I checked with my mum whether or not she wanted the sock smooth in her shoe and she said “Yes”, thereby making my life a little easier! For my own tastes, I would have continued the pattern onto the instep, but I’m making these for her, not me.

Modular Tank:

For want of a better name for it, the tank is coming along nicely.

modular tank 24-08-07

I’m on tier 6 of 7 in the smaller needles. You change up sizes to knit the lower three tiers on the bodice.

It’s fairly repetitive, but that’s what I need right now, especially since the universe decided it would be quite funny to give someone (my mum) with TMJ (temporomandibular joint syndrome), laryngitis and to have the infection go into their jaw. Universe? I’m not laughing!

9 thoughts on “No, I trust you

  1. Riker! hehehehehe I think he DID go to a log cabin and put on an Aran jacket! Surely we can find evidence of this somewhere. The lost reels of Star Trek the Next Generation. Well at any rate, your Aran looks really nice so far, and so do all your other projects.

    Like

  2. I love your texture pattern for the sweater. Your mum’s socks look so comfy too. I’m sending thoughts for good health your way for your whole family!

    Like

  3. Why are you knitting an orange and brown tank??????
    Are the British army changing their camouflage colours? Have they been Trinny and Susannah-ed?
    Riker would ABSOLUTELY wear an aron jacket. Why wouldn’t he have a log cabin? My ex-husband had one in his new life in Stargate.

    Like

  4. For those that don’t know, Mrs Dr. Who used to be known as Mrs McGyver – aka Richard Dean Anderson, aka Colonel Jack O’Neil from Stragate. Yeesh, that was complicated!

    Like

Because it's just me talking if you don't comment!

