FO: Stripey bedsocks

FO: Stripey bedsocks

stripey bedsocks2.jpg

stripey bedsocks1.jpg

Name: Mum’s stripey bedsocks

Pattern: (name, author, source) Made-up really! Me, Me.

Yarn: (name, fibre, weight, colour) Rowan Cashsoft DK, 57% extra fine merino, 33% microfibre, 10% cashmere in russet, olive and yellow (not the official colour names and I’ve lost the ball bands).

Needles: (size, material, style) 2.75mm double points in bamboo

Construction: (toe/heel/ribbing/cast off or cast on) Short row st. st., gusset and heel flap, rolled cuff, crochet cast off.

Number of stitches: (in foot/in leg) 52/54

Knitting style: (toe, foot/leg, heel, ribbing) Combination, English, Combination, English.

Modifications: None

Notes: Blecgh. That’s my reaction to the colours. File under “What Were You Thinking”. The red’s nice, but the other two are icky. There was also some uneven plying in all of the balls of yarn. Not what you would expect from something that costs £3.95 for 130m (about US$8, €6 or AUS$9.50).
BREAKING NEWS – They fit!!! Of course, it’s now too warm at night for my mum to wear them, but still! 😀

Polly (All Tangled Up) requested the muffin and cookie recipes.  I don’t know if I changed the cookie one enough to be able to post it without breaking copyright (I’ll check) but I’ll try and write the Apple Muffins up for next week.

8 thoughts on “FO: Stripey bedsocks

  1. They’re bedsocks: you wear them in bed in the dark!! If you’re worried that might assuage your pain!!! If your mum loves them , and they fit, I think they’re a Winner. I would NOT expect anything to be wrong with wool that cost that muc. Very disappointing. It’s cold enough for bedsocks here!!!

    Like

  2. lovely socks and colourwork is a superb way to use up some dubious colours. I’m always amazed by how well some colours go together when I would never use them alone.

    Like

  3. Well the colors are um, eclectic at best 🙂

    But as long as they are warm and they fit, woohoo!

    I’m surprised you had issues with the yarn itself, I can honestly say Cashsoft is the most perfect yarn I’ve ever knit with!

    BTW, your cat comment was hilarious but truthfully Pumpkin is the most laid back cat EVER. Even avowed cat haters love him 🙂

    Like

  4. Well, I like them. I even like the color combinations. And they fit which is the first priority. That makes the pair a successful project in my book!

    Like

Because it's just me talking if you don't comment!

