It’s all about the yarn (baby)

It’s all about the yarn (baby)

In my continuing mission to rid myself of all badly fitting garments or shocking design choices, I took the plunge with a jumper that had been with me since 2004.

That’s right people, Klaralund is no more.

Why? Because she was boxy and I’m not a supermodel with no boobs, no belly and no hips. And I actually have a discernible waist. And it made me look clumpy and frumpy all the same time. And I kept dipping the flared sleeves in the washing-up water.

What happened?

Well, it went from this:

 

klaralund_better_front

 

to this:

 

yarn in bath

 

to this:

 

all seasons in skeins

 

and finally to this:

 

all seasons cotton cakes

I have a design picked out and ready to go (including some modifications, naturally) and I’ll get going as soon as I’ve finished the cotton angora top. If I finish it?

A criminally-negligent amount of actual knitting has been achieved since the last post, so my departing shot will be swatch photo.

modular test swatch

Ooooh ….. any guesses? ๐Ÿ™‚

8 thoughts on “It’s all about the yarn (baby)

  1. yeah, good call on the frock thing, the yarn looks all happy and ready to get to something else. No guesses on the swatch, though – color me stumpy I mean stumped =)

    Like

  2. I agree, I need things to be fitted, and preferably a bit plunging in the neckline department. If you’ve got it, flaunt it I say. I quite like to frighten people with my cleavage every now and then!!! I think you can find a much better use for the Klara yarn. Have no idea what the swatch is, it looks mitre-y and like a Jaffa. That’s the chocolate Jaffa not the Stargate Jaffa!!! Oh, and I think only 1% or (1% of 1%) of women have a supermodel body!!!

    Like

  3. I would say you’re ready for something mitered? Perhaps a mitered squares blanket or a mitered square sweater? I dunno.
    Klaralund was never a favorite design to me b/c it wouldn’t look good on me either.

    Like

  4. You know, I don’t think I ever saw a Karalund in Knitbloglandia that actually did look good on anyone so I think you made a smart, albeit brave move ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

Because it's just me talking if you don't comment!

