Letting go of the UFO

Letting go of the UFO

I’ve come to realise something recently. I have too many unfinished knitting projects for my anally-retentive mind to cope with. This needs to be rectified as soon as possible. I will present those items for whom it is time to wave hello and say goodbye.

There are three items, two of which are … erm … older and one is very recent. The old ones first.

Martha cardigan from Rowan 38? 39? Can’t remember:

martha cardigan 27-02-07

This is half way up to the arm pits on the back. This is as far as I got. This is the only piece of this garment.

I had to up-size it (come on, it’s Rowan) and lengthen it too. I don’t think I up-sized it enough and I don’t think the pattern is quite right for me. As a curvy gal, I tend to gravitate towards the more flowing, circular patterns and this is very much a square, boxy one.

So, I need to frog it and I would also love some (sensible) suggestions for the newly liberated yarn. I’d like something similar in style to Martha (lacy cardigan with 3/4 length sleeves and a classic U-neck). I suspect my best bet will be to design something myself, but inspiration would still be gratefully received.

Lace cardigan from Wendy yarns:

zig zag cardi back
The whole of the back.
zig zag cardi close up
Detail of an oops!

This was my first lace project (I’m not kidding) and it’s in a nylon/acrylic blend. Don’t laugh – it seemed a good idea at the time. Having a couple of years distance (again, not kidding) I’m not sure of 1. the design and 2. the colour.

Part of the problem I would have in ripping this out is that I’ve completed the back (and that’s a lot of work) and also, what would I do with the yarn?

I may bite the bullet and finish the cardigan (it shouldn’t be too much of a problem now) but I’ll sit on that for the moment.

Leaf Lace asymmetric jacket:

leaf lace jacket 27-02-07

And now the more recent item.

It just ain’t working for me.

I had my doubts about this as soon as I started the first sleeve, but I kept going.

However, I blocked the finished sleeve and then tried it on.

leaf lace jacket flarm evidence
Flarm warning (FLabby ARMs)

See? It makes my already decent-sized upper arm look massive. I don’t need that kind of help.

However, it’s not a total loss because I learnt some things (bulky lace patterning is not working for me) and large needles hurt my wrists if I knit a lot of it.

I’m going to keep the large-collar-that-can-fold-down idea, but work it in another knit/purl pattern and I’m still sold on the top-down raglan thing. The rest of the cardigan will be symmetrically and in reverse stocking stitch, because I think it suits the tweedy yarn quite well. At least that’s today’s plan!

Mad stats:

Look what happens when two free patterns you offer up end up on free pattern websites:

mental stats

