Frankenhand

Frankenhand

Or: The Return of the Mummy Finger

Or: My Immune System has gone Haywire

Remember the Mummy Finger I graciously shared with you? It got worse and worse until yesterday I was woken up in the wee small hours of the morning with my right hand incredibly itchy. I phoned the doctors at half ten and was seen 20 minutes later – that never happens!

Anyway, it turns out that it is a “build up of histamines” in my hand. I have to take antihistamines. Would those would be the same antihistamines I take at the start of every hay-fever seasons? Erm … yes. The exact same ones.

At the moment, I’m using hydrocortison cream and dipping my hand into cold water every hour because my hand is just so itchy.

My dad asked …. I will provide!

After he made a semi-throw-away comment whilst fondling yarn (where do think I get it from?) I’m making my dad an Aran-style jacket.

I’ll tell you something for nowt – this designing malarkey ain’t half hard work. I’ve lost count now, but I think I’m on plan G for the cable designs alone.

This is swatch 2 (swatch 1 didn’t even make it this far):

aran jacket rejected swatch

And this is the reason it was rejected (the gigantic hole at the bottom of the diamond, in case you can’t see):

aran jacket rejected cable close up

I decided that instead of working up the whole cable arrangement I would, to save time and energy, just swatch individual cables. This way, if I decide I don’t like one element, I don’t have to rip the whole thing. As of today (the 15th of February) this is the arrangement I’ve come up with:

aran jacket swatches

It will be mirrored around a central twisted stitch on the back and on the front the mirror will be around the zip.

For some pictures of my sketch book and the mess I’ve got myself into, have a look at all of my photos tagged with “Design Book” on Flickr.

And here’s a sneak-peek of March’s coming attraction:

green sock yarn macro close up

Note – I’m importing posts from Blogger, so I’m really sorry if your feed aggregator goes currazy!

5 thoughts on “Frankenhand

  1. Ouch, that’s very bad. Your poor finger. Very strange that you can ‘build up’ histamines in you hand??? Glad you were able to see the doctor quickly. Maybe cold tea would help the itching, or the water squeezed out from some oats in water? That is very good. Hope the itching eases soon!! Nice aran work. I had a cream aran jumper as a child…Ohhh look at all that happy greenness!! Hurry up next month I say!!

    Like

  2. You really love your dad! lol I wonder if that stuff “liquid gloves” would work for you? (in the future or once this inflammation goes down) hmmmm?

    but GIRL – SO smart on the the individual cable swatches! You are my hero (heroine? it’s just not fair that it’s the same spelling for evil narcotics) that is SO efficient and clever and proactive and COOLNESS – I’m giddy from the possibilities – woo hooooo hoo

    Like

  3. Yikes! It sounds miserable. Hopefully the antihistamines will kick in quick for ya!

    Your dad sure is a lucky guy – I actually like swatching for cables. I like the combination you’ve picked.

    Like

Because it's just me talking if you don't comment!

