W is for

W is for

Writing.

Over the last seven years of my degree (results the week before Christmas) I’ve done a lot of writing. The result? A pad of hardened skin on the middle finger of my right hand.

W hands
Evidence of a hard life [snark]! You can see a difference (I promise) if you go to the Flickr page and have a peek at one of the larger photos. EDIT: I’ve now remembered to make the photos “public” as opposed to “private”. Oops!

The pad used to be bigger than this. I use computers much more than I used to, for example at primary and secondary school, and so it’s gone down.

My handwriting changes with my level of health and also with the type of pen I use. I have found it more ledgible with a fountain pen when compared to a ball point. Mid-way would be a pencil, but I tend to smudge it!

writing example
An example of my hand writing.

This entry is linked to “Q is for Quill“, in which I wax lyrical (not really) about fountain pens.


Technorati tags: ; ;

3 thoughts on “W is for

  1. Yes!! I have a dent and a callus on my right index finger from 34 years of pencil/pen grip writing at school. 34 years of school: Wow!!!
    Nice hands though!! Very nice!!

    Like

  2. I have a gnarly disfigured middle digit from writing. It’s a little less noticeable than before, but it’s mostly permanent. Even the nail grows in all wonky, but grip those things way too hard, can’t stop it no matter how hard I try.
    (the flickr photo wouldn’t let me see it)

    I wonder if the fountain pen writes nicer b/c you don’t have to jam it into the paper so hard to get it to work? less stressful? hmmmm deep thoughts hahaha

    Like

Because it's just me talking if you don't comment!

