FO: Slip into Spring Socks

The time: Mid-March.

The challenge: make my mum a pair of socks with no lace, no cables, no short-row heels but which will be fun and interesting enough for me not to want to stab my own eyes out.

The result: Slip into Spring!

I combined a simple slip-stitch pattern with a WendyKnits sock template, put my head down and made a pair of socks in 11 days flat.

The back of the leg is worked in a rib pattern to help hold the sock up (I hope)

Pattern: Slip into Spring (my own stitch pattern superimposed on Wendy’s Gusset Heel Toe-up sock)

Yarn/Needles/Technique: Lane Cervinia Forever Jacquard wool/nylon sock yarn with 2.25 mm KnitPro circular for Magic Loop. Toe-up 2-at-a-time.

Toe/heel: Wedge toe with Judy’s Magic Cast on.  Gusset Heel from Socks from the Toe Up by WendyKnits.

I’m planning to make myself a pair of these in a semi-variegated yarn (my first Posh Yarn purchase to be precise) and then I may write up a pattern.  Contain yourselves, good people! :D

Sorry for the inconsistent quality of the photos.  I took these at 9 at night in March. Indoors.  I did the best I could!

About Amy P

I'm a knitting, sewing, crafting scientist with a list of chronic illnesses longer than my inflamed sciatic nerve!
This entry was posted in finished object, Knitting, socks and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to FO: Slip into Spring Socks

  1. 2paw says:

    Very pretty colours and you made excellent use of the strips and slip stitches. I am glad they were good to knit.

  2. Denise says:

    That looks like a fun yarn to knit with. I thought it was a Regia at first. It looks similar to a yarn I used long ago.

    Wendy’s pattern is great. I’m using it to figure out how to do the heels and toes on another toe up pattern I’m making.

  3. April says:

    Very nice socks and fun yarn =)

  4. wow that was quick and what a fab result too!

  5. Mrsdrwho says:

    Clown barf socks…Love them!

Because it's just me talking if you don't comment!

