I’m lighting the bat-signal

Due to various dietary requirements my mum can’t have very rich food. Sadly this includes fruit cake and mincemeat, so the winter festivities aren’t very cheerful for her. I’d love to make her a seasonal winter/solstice/Christmas cake very light on dried fruit and sugar but high on cheer. Does anyone have any suggestions? I wondered about Stollen but I’m not sure how “rich” it is.

Yours, in mild panic,

Amy.

ETA: she’s allergic to pork, is vegetarian and on a low-insoluble-fibre diet which means no nuts.

She’s more of a special snowflake than I am! :D

About Amy P

I'm a knitting, sewing, crafting scientist with a list of chronic illnesses longer than my inflamed sciatic nerve!
This entry was posted in baking, cooking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to I’m lighting the bat-signal

  1. audreym says:

    are nuts ok? Nigel Slater’s chocolate hazelenut cake is v. nom http://jaynieskitchen.blogspot.com/2008/01/nigel-slaters-chocolate-hazelnut-cake.html

    or some more of Nigel S’s Xmas recipes http://www.guardian.co.uk/lifeandstyle/2008/nov/16/nigel-slater-christmas-recipes

    GrannyG’s lemon vodka cake sounds amazing

    http://www.grannygcrafts.com/?page_id=873

    I’ve never made stollen but the stuff you buy on the Xmas market is pretty damn rich

    • Amy P says:

      Ah, you must have read the post just before my edit. No nuts and no alcohol either. Do you see my problem!?! I’ll check out the Nigel Slater recipes.

  2. jenifleur says:

    Are most British Christmas cakes traditionally made with dried fruit? I tend to think here we’d consider most anything made with dark, wintery spices like cinnamon, cloves, nutmeg to be Christmassy. Throw in some chocolate and/or peppermint and it’s fully seasonal.

    I haven’t tried this but it looks wonderful: http://christmas.betterrecipes.com/spiced-mocha-fudge-cake.html

    If lactose isn’t an issue, this is one of my go-to recipes: http://find.myrecipes.com/recipes/recipefinder.dyn?action=displayRecipe&recipe_id=10000001011213

    Maybe this if the dairy is a roadblock? http://find.myrecipes.com/recipes/recipefinder.dyn?action=displayRecipe&recipe_id=10000000520449

  3. Janine says:

    how about Italian panattone?

    http://www.mangiabenepasta.com/panettone.html

    the recipe has alchohol,but as it is only used to soak the few raisins that are in it – you could probably use tea or fruit juice instead…

  4. Denise says:

    What kind of cake can she eat? Maybe use a recipe she can eat and just put in a few dried fruits she likes. My best guess.

    Another knitting blogger who I read was so shocked about our lack of Christmas cheer. Fruitcakes get regifted because nobody in the US will eat them. Well, Duane and I will but often we run onto one that has been regifted since before we were born, it’s so stale.

    No Christmas pudding and jar mince is so expensive I’ve not had any in years.

    This knitter is sending us a Christmas cheer package. I’m thanking her by sending fabric.

    I feel like a Dickens’ character with Dammit playing Tiny Tim wondering every year where is pud and mince pies.

  5. jenifleur says:

    I’ll try them as tinies:

    http://tinyurl.com/28hwfvz

    http://tinyurl.com/29u5a3x

    We don’t really eat much dried fruit anything here so I’m not much help with finding the ideal replacement. My favorite ever Christmas card to send out was an Edward Gorey card with everyone lining up at a hole in the ice waiting to throw their fruitcakes in. Eventually I ran out of them but the sentiment remains. What else is traditional? Maybe we could come up with something different to bring lots of delicious cheer.

  6. 2paw says:

    We can bathe in fruit cakes here: dark, light, iced, un-iced, they are everywhere and everyone has their fruit steeping in alcohol, or they are pouring alcohol on their cake. This really is the Lucky (fruitcake) Country.
    I have no good suggestions for the cake recipe, sorry…

  7. redsilvia says:

    I have no idea about British cakes, but if she can’t eat dried fruit and want low sugar you’re looking at a sponge cake. You could make a jelly roll (swiss roll?) and xmas it up with ginger/cinnamon/spice or make a buche de noel and go that route. Ooh, now I’m hungry.

    • AmyP says:

      Good point about the Swiss roll (you remembered correctly!). I made one of those for her birthday for this year, but I’m sure she’d “suffer” another one! :D

Because it's just me talking if you don't comment!

